Rooftopping NYCsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I thought it was a nice day to go and find some easy access rooftops and take some sunset photos of the city. I tried to sneak in to a few hotel roofs in Times Square in 42nd Street. I tried one place masquerading as a guest, got to the top floor and there were cameras facing the roof entrance. Went to the hotel adjacent and I got followed by a security guard as I was making my ascent to the top floor. I aborted the mission mid-way my elevator trip to the top floor.

I thought my goal of getting sunset cityscape shots was not going to happen, until I remembered that there was a hotel with a very good rooftop bar that is on the 54th floor. The only problem was that it was 6 pm, prime happy hour time. I get to the hotel and I get into the elevator with the anxiety looming around me that it is going to packed.

I was already coming up with strategies to maneuver through the crowd of intoxicated, selfie taking happy hour goers. When the doors opened, I was welcomed to a semi empty rooftop bar! Here are the shots that I was rewarded with.

roofers.jpg
Sunset shot!

roofers-3.jpg
Good Over head city shot!

roofers-2.jpg
Day turning to night

Today was a great success! Please tell me what you think about the photos in the comments! If you're from NYC or you're going to visit, the bar where I took these at is Bar 54 in the Hyatt Times Square.

Sort:  

Totally enjoyed your rooftop adventures, thanks for posting.

thanks @voder! I'll keep posting my photo adventured here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51