Why do we take back people that make us unhappy?

in #photography7 years ago

Hi guys,

Recently I met a girl who has got me to thinking. Why do we take back people in our lives that make us unhappy? This can be a boy- or girlfriend, a friend or a co-worker. I am all for giving people second chances and forgiving people but how many chances should you give to someone? I want to share a little bit of my experience on this subject with you guys today:

I can't get into the details because I wouldn't be professional (it was during a photoshoot) if I did but I do want to share that I ended up being in touch with a girl recently that has been cheated on by her boyfriend for many years. It made me wonder: why do you take back someone who makes you unhappy, doesn't value you and makes you feel insecure about yourself? She told me she had mental problems and was really unhappy with herself. His cheating contributed to that.
She told me that she had found out that he slept with other girls, had affairs with other girls and was still trying to flirt with other girls even though she was his girlfriend.

A day after telling me this, she was hanging out with him again. She told me that she had been crying for a very long time and that she was very upset the day before. It wasn't the first time something happend with him (he was actually flirting with me behind her back) and still she was buying him gifts, taking him to parties (where he ended up kissing other girls in front of her) and sticking up for him when others where trying to bring him down.

Honestly I have never understood why people would do that. I am all for forgiveness but if people keep on giving you crap, you need to be able to stick up for yourself. It is not selfish to take care of your own hapiness! You are worth it, you are worth respect and people who value you!

I was very inspired by this to do a shoot about selfconfidence and love! Hope you guys enjoy it :)! Let me know your experience and what you guys think!

IMG_4727.jpg

IMG_4832.jpg

IMG_4881.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @suzanalberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Upvoted!

Let me begin by saying that I LOVE these shots. To me, this model has a very special beauty. Awesome!

As to why do people go back with people that hurt them? I believe that people get programmed a certain way and that programming can help or hinder their experiences in life.

E.g. Breaking up with someone and ending up in the same kind of abusive relationship with someone else. Different face but same stuff!

The programming can of course be changed.

Seemingly haphazard life experiences can alter programming, sometimes for the better, and sometimes for the worse. People tend to be buffeted about by life's happenings...

One good way of altering programming for the better is hypnosis or some similar reprogramming therapy.

But not all hypno-therapists are created equally so it may be an adventure finding one that can get in and out quickly and with the maximum efficiency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69