How to take better GoPro pictures - for beginners

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

When I travel I always bring my GoPro. I'm still an amateur, but I've learned some lessons and I want to share them with you.

Floating around in Greece..


Try out different angles

These unedited pictures are taken with a selfie stick. Noticed the big difference when I changed the angle. Play around - vary the angle and the distance. 


In Jamaica with  @kariannemunch and  @laivi .

Lick your lense

I was embarrassed to do this at first, but I realized it was the best way to prevent water on the lens. When there's water on the lens, your shot will look something like this: 

Extra batteries

Bring a couple of extra batteries. Always! 

Gear up

Buy the mounts and accessories that suits your use. I started out slow, to see what I really needed. I have a floaty backdoor, a selfie stick, extra batteries, a bike mount and a shoulder strap. I think thats enough for now.

Download the GoPro app

It's a great way to preview the images and you can also use it as a remote. 

Light

Lighting is super important. If you're filming in a dark area you can lower the frame rate (FPS). You should also be aware of which direction the light is coming from. Sometime when I shoot something towards the sun, a purple stripe will ruin my picture.

Know where your fingers are at all times

I have had so many pictures ruined by my own and other people's fingers in the frame. Stay away! 

I did one good thing here, I got close to the object. But what's with the random hand in the shot?


The song of the day is this one.


Susanne

Sort:  

Those are really good tips. My son just got one and so we are beginners. It seems to me that you have a lot less fish eye effect. Did you use a program for that? UPVOTED!
If you wouldn't mind have a look at this photo. It wasn't taken while on vacation but it has that vibe about it.
http://steem.link/FTqyg

That's cool! Your son will have a lot of fun with the GoPro. No, these are not edited. The top one is a bit cropped.
Your photo makes me want to take a trip to Italy!

My GoPro Hero 4 Silver has Narrow, Medium, Wide, and SuperView settings. I think you can play around with those settings to get less fisheye effect.

Thanks for the info.

Which GoPro did you use?

Hi. I use an old GoPro Hero 3 white

Thanks, I'm heading toIceland in a couple of weeks and debating whether to get one.

You can buy a used one. GoPro Hero 3 is more than good enough for a beginner.

Although you say you're an amateur, those are good photos for a go pro! nice shots

Well, that's nice of you to say @rnobrega! Thank you.

awh...no shark pics! : )

I'll be in Australia in a couple of weeks, I'll try to get some there. Ha ha

I agree with the lick your lens recommendation. Spit is a natural anti-fogger. We use spit in our goggles when diving and I use it on my GoPro as well when I dont have anti-fogging drops.

https://steemit.com/photography/@cloh76/my-first-usd2000-steemit-post-about-diving

nice tips, i've been tempted by a go pro for a while

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62