A man who lives in loneliness, is prepared to die at any time! A short story of "Happiness"

in #photography7 years ago

Dear Steemers,

Today I want to share with you briefly the story of a humble lady who does not live anymore.

The lady is the picture was named Lumturie (nglish: Happiness) and was her "short" name (how everybody called her was Lule (english: Flower). In contradiction with the meaning of her full and short name, her story was nothing similar to happiness or flowers.

4622424931_2014b1e4fd_o.jpg

It was very common in Albania (and it still is in the rural ares) for women to accept marriage, without even knowing their
future husband! Lule (Flower) was married to the brother of my grandfather. A harsh man who liked to be in control. The y never conceived any kids and unfortunately, he died too soon and way before her.

5246268729_f2fd3a65de_o.jpg

In this picture, Lule is in her environment. This is how she spent her life. Close to the wooden stove and close to her small garden. After the death of her husband, she shared a private house with my grandparents, and my uncle.

Unfortunately, society saw her as an unfortunate women and so she was treated. It breaks my heart every time I remember how she spent the last days of her life. She always said that my grandmother was lucky enough to get old with her husband, kids and the kids of her kids. She felt alone every time we visited. It was a reminder that she had nobody in this world to take care of her. On the other hand, she felt as she was treated like a slave, used mainly to do house work and heavy gardening.

In the summer of year 2012, I get a phone call around midnight from my cousin, saying she was no longer with us. Knowing how much she suffered, I was filled with emptiness and anger. Such stories are always a reminder on how unfair the world is and how your life conditions are strictly depending on the context you were born.

I traveled the same night to my home town to give her my last goodbye. Sadly approaching the room she was laid down, I though I saw the most peaceful human body I had ever seen. Her skin was so beautifully pale and her white hair looked like extremely clean cotton. That view is something I will never forget. She was a warm soul, always willing to give the love she had been collecting in her heart for her whole life.

Until next time,
Steem On

Sort:  

What a sad story :( Thank you for this unique glimpse into Albanian culture though. I had no idea...

Thanks for coming by :)

You are welcome. Glad I discovered your profile, you post things that are interesting to me ;) Can I have a question? Are Albanians of Slavic origin like us Czechs? I did some research but havent found any reliable info.

Well... this is a difficult question as the Balkans are very complicated when it comes to origin and nationalism! But, we are taught at school that we come from the Illyrians, which populated the region before the Slavic population. Try to google that :) if it still does not make sense, I can send you some sources ^^

Will do that, thank you! Honestly, I have never heard of the Illyrians but I love to learn new things so I am gonna google that :) Thank you for inspiration :)

That's quite a culture. My fingers were crossed for a happy ending 😥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59