Touring the Gardens...

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Welcome to a photo tour of Sunscape's gardens


Come follow me as a take you on a little tour of the multiple gardens surrounding my home in Western, New York.

Trellis Entrance


This beautiful trellis is surrounded by a lovely Limelight Hydrangea bush, climbing bean vine and zinnias. In early spring the trellis is covered with a Clematis Vine then under-planted with the annual bean vine or sometimes a morning glory vine.

Sweet Spot


This little corner is one of my favorite quiet places. I enjoy laying in the hammock in the early afternoons after working in the gardens. It is my personal sweet spot to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature in my own backyard.

Partial view of the backyard

Impatien Flower Bed


This garden surrounds the base of my Locust tree that gives me lots of shade in my backyard. The hummingbirds and butterflies love this flower bed.

Butterfly Garden

Lavender & Vegetable Garden


This garden has two matching trellis entrances, one from the front of the house and the second from the backyard. This area has 3 large raised beds for herbs, strawberries and my greens garden. I also grow my garlic, roses and lavender in this area. From here you can see my greenhouse in the background.

Raised Beds

Birdhouse by the pond


This is one of the many bird house posts that I have throughout the gardens. The birds love to nest and raise their young in the boxes.


A view of my backyard pond

I love my little water garden. This sits right off the back porch where I sit and enjoy the wildlife. I have a bird feeder that sits at the edge where a wide variety of birds come all day long. Among them are Crows, Bluejays , Cardinals, Sparrows Titmouse, Black Capped Chickadees, Blackbirds and more.

The squirrels and chipmunks also arrive daily to enjoy some peanuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and then a long drink in the pond.

I did another post of the frogs that reside every year in my pond if you would like to view some great shots of my yearly visitors.

Front Garden


This sits at the entrance to my driveway and is a colorful welcome to all who visit and drive by.

Closeup view


This bed gets really hot sun all day and requires drought tolerant flowers like these Blue Salvia and Marigolds. The bumblebees love this garden to gather pollen.

Vegetable Garden in early Fall


Most of the plants are being taken out this month and the ground prepared for next years plantings. It looks so naked in the gardens this time of year.


Greenhouse


This is my greenhouse where I grow all the seedlings to plant throughout the gardens every year. I love being able to be self-sustaining by growing a lot of my own food. The flowers are planted as a food source for nature to enjoy and to encourage pollinators to my vegetable gardens.

Thank you for stopping by for a tour of my gardens, I hope you enjoyed the photos.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Gardens are natures poetry. Yours are truly beautiful. Loved these photos.

Thank you very much, I agree Nature speaks it's own language and I love to take time to listen. ;-)

This is beautiful, can`t wait to see it in real someday @sunscape ;)

I can't wait for you to come for a visit! Thank you so much for sharing the post!

Wow this is beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing.
I'm about to start a butterfly garden - what plants are in yours?
Also I just checked out your Etsy account - you have such amazing items your selling, have you thought of selling them on Peerhub.com for Steem Dollars? If so I'd 100% love to buy some crystals.

Hi, I have some perennial flowers: black eyed susans, shasta daisy, columbine, heleopsis, hydrangea, summer phlox, yarrow, lavender & crocosmia to name a few. For annual flowers I plant a lot of Impatiens, zinnias, asters, marigolds & salvia.
Thank you for the compliment, I have never heard of Peerhub, I will have to look into it. Thank you for letting me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60784.40
ETH 2633.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61