Enjoying The Chipmunk Antics

in #photography8 years ago

Chipmunks are busily preparing for the winter months. I have been able to get some really cute pictures of them in the yard this summer and fall.




"Breakfast with the birds"


Coming to the bird feeder for a morning meal. As soon as I sprinkle corn out every morning, the backyard comes alive with birds, chipmunks, squirrels and an occasional rabbit.



"Chubby Cheeks"


As I am sitting on the porch watching the birds and feeding the squirrels, this little guy comes from one of the gardens to fill up. He stuffed his mouth so full, then would run back into the garden.

A few minutes would go by and sure enough, he would come running to the feeder again. This went on for quite awhile, I believe this chipmunk was storing up for winter. As fall approached I could see many chipmunks doing the same thing. My corn budget needs an increase.... lol.



"Young male"


Here is another one starting to stuff his cheeks to store in his nest.



"Baby Chipmunk"


This baby chippie seems to like sitting on this birdhouse. I had seen him do this many times and never questioned it. Until, I found him peeking out of the birdhouse at me. I think he is enjoying the abandoned birds nest inside to keep warm.

I hope his instincts kick in and he builds a burrow underground for the winter.



"Peekaboo"





"Up a tree"


This chipmunk was pretending it was wounded after my cat Tucker had caught him. As he limped closer and closer to the garden, he was able to make a run for it up this Hydrangea bush.

I had to intervene as Tucker was relentless and trying to climb the shrub to recapture him. Alas, the cat was put in the house and the little one was able to escape to safety. I never saw a chest beating so fast as this little guys, he was petrified.



CoCo Chasing Chipmunks

Coco loves to chase the chipmunks when she sees them at the bird feeder. However, she never catches them, thank goodness. The one she is after just ran up the Hemlock next to the pond.



"Chipmunk in Hemlock"


Sitting in the top of the tree to get away from my dog CoCo until it is safe to get down.

Sorry for the shaky video, it is a bit windy and my hand is not to steady. All that said, I could have turned the camera, duh!

Thank you for stopping by to see the Chipmunks.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Chipmunks are hilarious. We had them digging along our old house, and one of them would climb the tree outside our front window and chirp. I know he was talking to his buddies, but I could almost swear he was taunting me!

I love having them around. They are so funny to watch and they are little taunters. They keep my little CoCo busy chirping at her and playing hide and seek with her. Your chipmunk might have been asking for snacks....lol.

I have to agree they are so cute, upvoted

Thank you for the vote, I love them too!

Beautiful shots! These little mammals are so cute :)

Thank you @shieha they are adorable and so much fun to watch.

Great post & images
Thanks for sharing
I follow you now :)

Thank you so much @jcsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41