Photography #12 - Having Fun With Waterballoons :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hey!

Today I tried to capture some exploding waterballoons for SteemitPhotoChallenge with a friend. 60 waterballoons later we ended up half trenched and with one picture I originally intended to get. Here are some other cool photos from the lot. It was quite difficult to time the shots, because the balloons pop so quickly, here one second, gone the other.
I used my camera for some shots and my friends camera for most of them.

Cameras:
Pentax K-30 with 50-200mm (1/6000th of a sec)
Nikon D7100 with 18-100mm (1/8000th of a sec)

It's cool that even with 1/8000th of a sec the water didn't freeze in some areas, which means the water moves at a tremendous speed. We used ISO3200~4000 on all the shots due to the high shutter speed and cloudy skies. That's why there's a lot of noise also. But it looks still quite good!
Enjoy!

It was really hard to figure out a good timing at first, that's why most of the early pictures were just splashes of water in the air.

But with time things started to take shape :)

Until we started getting some cool shots too...

Finally, the shot we were waiting for :D

It took 60 balloons just to get this one. Never thought it would be this hard :P
I will also use this shot as my entry for SteemitPhotoChallenge. Be sure to upvote that post if you like it!

My PhotoChallenge post:

https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@sulev/steemitphotochallenge-entry-the-pop-high-shutter-speed



My Previous Photography posts


https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/photography-11-pictures-from-my-garden-flowers-and-berries-part-3
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/photography-11-pictures-from-my-garden-bees-lizards-and-other-part-2
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/photography-11-pictures-from-my-garden-harvest-time-part-1


Hope you like them! Critique is welcome!
Check out my other posts @sulev
Follow!

*In consideration of my post about file-sizes, all these pictures range in size of 250 to 390kB. Hope you noticed increased loading speeds :D

Sort:  

Some great shots here. Especially the one we were all waiting for! Perfect.

This is incredible! I love them all!

Wow, great shot(s)! Persistence pays off!

yes it does :)

Outstanding job! I tried to do something similar but I guess I need a better camera. Full Steem ahead!

Yeah, you do ;)

Shot with the orange ball is the best :)

me too, that was the shot I was aiming for. Check out my PhotoChallenge post :)
I've uploaded the 16MB version of this picture there. It's ~300KB here.

Brilliant, I love to see experimentation like this!

These pictures look awesome! Love it!

Thanks!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44