Make it Pop: "That Old Room"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Hey!

An old workroom in an abandoned building.
Tried to give it that old wild west look.
As with my previous photo I darkened the foreground and gave more detail to the center. In the end I raised the temperature to make it slightly brown and erased that layer in the white areas so it would be more interesting.

161001ruumpa_IGP2023-Edit04eb0.jpg

Original image:

161001ruumenne_IGP2023c6953.jpg


My Previous Photography posts


https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/make-it-pop-a-pirates-treasure
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/photography-17-snapshots
https://steemit.com/photography/@sulev/make-it-pop-cloudy-lake


Hope you like it! Critique is welcome!
Check out my other posts @sulev
Follow!

Sort:  

Love the top one
💋 @halo 💋😇

Me too. That's the finished one. The idea is to show how much a photo can be changed during post. :)

Well well @sulev, you certainly pulled out all the stops on this one eh?? a beautiful image, you can almost smell the place through this shot eh?' I love the tunneling of the light and the fact that you explain it too, works for me !! )

Maybe even too many stops. I shot it at ISO 3200.
B&W helps to mask the noise and selling it as an "old" image too :D

Ahhhhh clever you @sulev, you saw my old photographers joke didnt you ? ))) you shot it at 3200, ok, so that should help with contrast no?? As it increases gain i should think, at least in film it was true. But with numeric i am never sure what increasing the ISO does as its a bit arbitrary no?? things have changed alot from when I first began to shoot !! I used to love TMAX 1600 BW film by Kodak you could push that stuff till the cows came home and it would give great results !!

Can you link that joke? I haven't read it.
I heard of a joke from somewhere which went like this: if you have a noisy image just make it B&W and say it's supposed to imitate old cameras.
I'm a beginner. Picked up my camera ~1month ago. Don't really know much about the technical side. I chose ISO3200 because it was too dark and I was shooting without an tripod. (I'd do a long exposure with an tripod if I had to do it again.)

" pulling out the stops " is just an old english expression , to say that we do everything humanly possible to alleviate a given problem. But in photography we use the word stops when referring to the aperture or " f "value used on taking the photo, f stops to be exact !! So i just myself used this expression as it was to me a funny game of words to make on this subject, that is all !! So concerning your decision to use a high ISO or " sensitivity " to light, considering the low light subject and lack of a tripod it was a good one as it permitted you to take this photo with less danger of blur or movement ,as indeed your shutter speed would have been notably higher with this setting. but you could have also used maybe your lowest f stop ?? this value depends on your lens " how fast it is " a fast lens is one normally which has an f stop smallest value of 1.8. But these can be expensive !! But the problem with using a high value ISO is that it adds noise in numerical cameras, with film same problem actually as the high ISO films back then generally had more grain or larger crystals on the emulsion face of the film. So you see us photographers face the same problems and experience the same results actually with film as with numerical, nothing there has changed The best option for this sort of subject is of course as you say a tripod for sure, but then you have to carry it yes ??? ; - ) Anyway the photo you took is excellent really and you made no mistake technically and quite the contrary !!

Nicely done. Did you use a plugin or just do it manually? BTW you can get all the Nik plugins for free right now.

If you ask if I used a preset then no. I prefer doing each photo manually in LR and add some finishing touches with Nik. Already have them all ;) Great tools!

Cool. That's why I was asking because they can save time but sometimes you have to do it manually to get things just so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71