Why I ditched my 1/4 million followers on Instagram and why you should too!

in #photography4 years ago

FF93BE0F-BB62-4AED-9813-8DEEAFC99CFC.jpeg

I spent the last decade using Instagram to share my creativity through photos and captions. Until I realized something that a lot of times only those engulfed in the app can understand. I went from impacting thousands of lives by sharing inspiring content, to being suppressed by their algorithms and censorship. A lot of my time was spent building an organic audience through active engagement and participation. Just to find out that 100% of my audience was to be controlled by them.

It was when I realized Mark Zuckerberg was profiting so immensely that I understood why this is happening. After all, how could one person be worth $70+ Billion and many of us not even bat an eye? And even worse, continue to spend our time on Facebook and Instagram profiting only one individual. What would you do if you were to be given $6 Million dollars? (Pause and think about this for a moment)

And what would you say if I were to tell you that he has enough wealth to have earned over $6 Million for every single day of his life? He could do what you just thought of over 12,000 times and still have plenty of money left over.

This money has to come from somewhere and the majority of it is through advertisements paid for by the brands and corporations that run our sad economy. I worked on large projects with companies such as Samsung and Adidas, just to find that my voice was slowly becoming lost in exchange for profit. My creativity being controlled for monetary gain of the machine world. Let’s just say that IG doesn’t like when you start sharing and promoting freedom of thought.

Life experiences sometimes take going through rough patches that don’t always make sense as they are unfolding. All I know is that what I have gone through has led me here to Steem and I look forward to joining the community. I love to connect with others who have a positive outlook towards how we can make the world a better place. Please feel free to share any Steem accounts that you believe portray this. I’m looking for others to follow, collaborate with, and gain inspiration with as well!

AB27012D-5F17-4AC2-8A1F-BCBAD711A60B.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi dear @subtlescopes, welcome to a different social world here on Steem.
Happy to have such a talent with us. I look forward to your work and you next posts

If you ever "accidentally" picture a beer or a bar or even people who have fun around the topic of beer - join us at the Steem #BeerSaturday challenge here on the blockchain, where we as well have some prizes. ;-)

Welcome to Steem. I wish you'd known to use the #introduceyourself tag for more visibility.

About IG. Not only is it annoying as a creator, its incredibly frustrating as a consumer too. All the accounts I FOLLOWED for their great content suddenly stopped showing up chronologically (argh!), and some times their posts never showed at all. In stead I started seeing more McDonalds and some random twerking bimbos.

Hello!

I've never personally been to Instagram, but I know firsthand how the big social media companies operate.

Welcome to Steem! I'm happy to meet another photographer father of 2, like myself.

Have a !beer, and may your stay be awesome! 😊

What we think, we become

I read that exact quote (but in Finnish) in a magazine cover today. Cool. Made me think.

Nice to meet you as well and grateful to have now met several people such as yourself to relate to here on Steem.

That is something I’ve said to myself on the regular after seeing it nearly 7 years ago. Really opens the perspective!

Well fuck all that mainstream shit anyway and buy some Bitcoin and some cheap Steem!
Welcome to one of the first experiments of trying to get a decensored social media platform happening on blockchain 😀

100% with you on that, never going back to mainstream! Now I just need to understand more as to how Bitcoin and crypto even works 🤣

Haha be more concentrated on working to turn paper money into satoshis 😀 If your totally new to it all feel free to discod me for help,its all quite easy but bewildering at first 😀

What is your Discord?

Good question, i think its movingman#1084 will check

edit #0184 😀

Which was first, Gab, Minds, or Steemit? Well, I guess Steemit launched as an actual blockchain. Gab begun as a normal website. Minds was probably built on Ethereum.

But did you tell them to find you on Steemit?

Slowly but surely! Haha I find that it will be more effective if I reach out individually to the mutual friends and have conversations about Steem that way. Although I will be coming up with some posts to try and get people to switch over as we’ll.

Ow yes you have come to the right place!

Have you considered using Appics as an app that is very instagram similar and it working on this exact steem blockchain?

A warm welcome from the Swiss mountains!

Thanks for mentioning that! I had no clue about Appics, but it looks like a great insta alternative for sure

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Welcome to Steem. I’ve featured your post and given you a shout out in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

So glad you are here! Hope you love Steem as much as I do!

So well written and a great first post, Welcome to Steemit

Thank you Jay!! Happy to have come across this community. Looking forward to sharing my work with all of you. Hope you’re having a great day!

Beena busy but a good day, and I am sure you will get settled in and enjoy your time on here

Well written! I loved it and welcome to the community!
It's so true that IG has censored everything to the point where I feel like they watch every second of your live story posted. I mean there is really no privacy once you post anything online, but still. I've had one incident in which I felt as they kept an eye on every single post where I assume the workers won't even have time to sleep or perhaps its the machine doing all the filtering and censoring.

Thank you so much! It’s nice being able to jump on a platform like this and within just minutes of sharing being able to have met someone such as yourself with similar views and experiences. Glad to have met and I looking forward to seeing more of your content. With people like us continuing to support each other on Steem we can make a larger impact by encouraging others to do the same. Let’s separate from these large corporations that are monopolizing on our time spent for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15