Sort:  

Thanks @stresskiller! I have a, perhaps unhealthy, hatred of sensor noise, and will only raise the ISO as a last resort. Having said that, there is a bit more details in the darks that I could pull out. This was shot at 165mm - ƒ/5 - 2.5s - ISO 100, with that long exposure I picked up more detail in the raw file than your average shot. For reference this is my first edit of the image I did years ago when I had less experience editing.

obon2.png
compared to now:
Japanese Obon Festival.jpg

In both cases I really wanted the lanterns to be bright against the dark water. In this edit I mostly focused in bringing the reflections in the water up and that wonderful rocky bank up.

After your comment I started looking at the image, trying to decide what would be better with more light. My eye landed on the light from the lanterns on that rocky bank; to night when I get home I am going to try and enhance that spill of light.

Out of curiosity what things would you like come out of having a higher ISO?

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

it's always a triangle iso / aperture / shutter speed if you can raise the iso you might be able to use faster shutter speed and actually freeze the picture when things are moving ,some of the lanterns seem to move not a bad thing , on the other hand what if the shutter speed would have been longer would it be possible to freeze the water and get some light trails ? i can't judge the speed of the lanterns to see if that would be possible or not .

The lanterns were fairly still, the ones in the middle of the frame vertically are in the center of the focal plane. There are few lanterns in the foreground that are moving where you can see the motion blur, those are also starting to fall out of the focal plane.

I could have gotten zero motion blur even at 30 fps or maybe even 15, only the ones that had just been released were really moving much at all. I have a different shot that was at ISO 800 and much higher shutter speed. If I remember it after work I will post a version of that here for comparison.

I generally go for heavily crushed blacks to get a bit of a chiaroscuro effect with the light. I think though I need to pull up the darks a bit more; someone I work with saw the image over my shoulder and could not quite understand what the rocky wall of the pond was.

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60666.02
ETH 2636.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60