TOP 6 photographers from [PARIS PHOTO] fair

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I was invited to the latest "Paris Photo" and got to discover talented photographers...

The Fair took place at the Grand Palais. It was my first time in this 19th century building.

As I was meadering the labyrinthine alleys,
I immediately froze in front of the work of these 6 amazing photographers.
Enjoy!

6 - Rinko Kawauchi

paris fair.jpg

I refer to her work as visual poetry... As you will easily guess, she is a Japanese photographer, therefore you understand better the subtle delicateness of the composition _ it just makes me want to dive into her world, you know like in Mary Poppins ;)

5 - Anton Corbjin

He is a Dutch photographer, music video director, and film director.
You probably know some of his work : Depeche Mode's "Enjoy the Silence" (1990), U2's "One" (1991), Coldplay's "Talk" (2005), as well as the Ian Curtis biographical film Control (2007), the two other films The American (2010), and A Most Wanted Man (2014)

Here is one of his shot, A Portrait of Liv Tyler (1996)

The same year Liv Tyler plays in the movie "Stealing Beauty" and here are some on-set stills

paris fair 2.jpg

4 - Edgar Martins

The essence of the visual work of this Portuguese photographer is mainly philosophical and questions our modern world. The way I see it in this picture is our tendancy to excessively use filters to change our reality, make it more desirable. This forest is visually magnificient, yet frightening as I wouldn’t like to stand around pink dyied trees.

A bridge leading to death ?

Glorification of an everyday urban structure ? Either way, it is visually appealing. And I could stop thinking about that Refn movie… Neon Demon. Where every single shot could be a photography, thanks to this shooting star: Elle Fanning *

neon demon.jpg

His serie is called "Siloquies and Soliloquies on Death, Life and Other Interlude".

3 - Saul Leiter

He is an American Jewish photographer based in NYC. He was able to portray an inbetween world, the inside and the outside, the dry and wet, the hot and cold, right in the middle of the urban jungle. His pictures are calming, and we can feel th sweetness of melancoly. As far as I remember, I always loved drawing love messages on a steamy mirror or shower. Or these days, where I would put my hands close to each other blow hot air against a freezing window, just to write “I love you”…

saul leiter.jpg

2 - Yang Yongliang ...

He is an amazing Chinese photographer. He invents urban scenes that depict skyscrapers under construction, freeway systems, electrical power plants, and bustling urban corridors. His compositions starkly reveal the impacts of technological progress that China has undergone over past decades. There are so many details on his painting, you could stand hours in front of them.


“The Day of Perpetual Night”

1 - Weronika Gesicka

She is a Polish photographer and her work can be seen as a return to the past influenced by Philip K Dick’s world..
It is disturbing, troubling and funny at the same time.

I personally analyze it as a sweet criticism of the American dream, you know, owning a fridge, a lawnmower, a fire place, wife staying at home with the kids, yipppiiiii, alienation of life :D !

alienation.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post !
Feel free to share any favorite photographs of yours , I always love to discover new artists !

Follow me ;)

Sort:  

absolutely love Yang Yongliang

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70