MASTODON (Vol. 4)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The forth installment of my Mastodon portrait series. This shot is of their incredible drummer Brann Dailor live @ Download Festival, Melbourne 2018. I've also included a sketch mock-up made on the Prisma IOS app.

A few people have asked me how I get to take these photos, so I thought I'd give you a quick backstory. About 3 years ago I started my music blog sticksforstones.net - I started out doing reviews and asking record companies and touring companies if I could interview some bands over the phone. I started out with smaller acts and worked my way up the ladder. Once I proved to them I could get a decent amount of exposure for the bands they gave me bigger and better opportunities such as interviewing people like Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society/ Ozzy Osbourne, Max Cavalera (Sepultura/Soulfly) and Vinnie Paul (Pantera)

Once I got the ball rolling with interviews I asked if take photos for the bands too. I didn't know anything about photography (and still don't). I started out with a cheap Nikon d330, set it to 'auto' and basically just winged it. Only recently I've upgraded camera to a 'Sony cyber-shot dsc-rx10 iv', but in all honesty for the price it's not a huge improvement on the Nikon. I still love that camera.

I've also been asked if I get paid. The answer is 'no'. Even though I've had my content featured in huge music publications (such as blabbermouth. loudwire and VH1) and I've taken photos for the biggest Rock/Metal names such as Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Korn I've never been offered money. But in all honesty that's not why I do it.

I get paid working in a factory, I drive a forklift and operate heavy machinery. I work with a great bunch of people. About 4 years ago I got into stock investing and more recently I've been more interested in crypto-currencies. Even though I like my job I'd much prefer to blog and take photos full time. That's why I got into Steem, seems like a great community and a good opportunity.

Anyways I hope you like my content. If you do please feel free to upvote, comment, re-steem and follow.

Cheers

@sticksforstones

Sort:  

This is a great story! I am glad I asked :) Somehow it is perfectly metal that you are a forklift driver with a point and click camera getting interviews and front stage photography access on major label acts :) Much love - Carl

thanks so much brother. cheers for the support \m/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80