That time I decided to go off roading

in #photography7 years ago

junelake-1-2.jpg

Visiting Bishop, June Lake, Convict Lake, Mono Lake and Conway Ranch was both frightening and rewarding. When I set out on Friday afternoon I met up with a photographer in Bishop to join me on my 395 adventure. This was my second straight weekend back but first time north of Alabama Hills. I had done some previous research about the area but wanted to stay close to Bishop on the first night to capture the Milky Way. I had my eyes set on finding some petroglyphs but by the time we got together it was too late to go hunting in the dark so we settled on driving towards Convict Lake area to find some abandoned houses and other beautiful comps.

After getting skunked for hours with wispy clouds which haunted our night sky for hours it finally let up and we decided to drive into the valley a bit more to see what we could find. We had passed the Green Church off of 395 and decided to take Benton Crossing Road to see what else was out there. What found us I will not soon forget.

About 4 miles into driving and seeing pure darkness and little else I decided to turn my 2wd car around in a turn out. Bad move. The ground was frozen over and because of the high amount of rain we have been having in California, over saturated. Slowing down to make the turn my two front tires submerged into the ground and I was stuck spinning mud for the next 4 hours. Geico refused to send someone out because I was “off roading”, and over those 4 hours 2 cars passed by. 1 passerby did nothing but stare at me as I waved my arms from the side of the road, and another pickup which happened to have all the equipment to remove me from the sunken mud was kind enough to stop and pull us out.
This would be the first time I was to be towed this weekend…

While I have photos from that evening, the “395 House” was one of our Saturday night/Sunday morning locations and an iconic location for adventurers to stop and take a snap with the backdrop of the mountains in sight.

  • Location: June Lake, CA
  • Date: April 2nd, 2017
  • Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
  • Lens: @sigmaphoto Sigma 24mm f/1.4 ART
  • 20 seconds
  • f/2.0
  • 24mm
  • ISO 6400
  • 2 @lumecube at 2% continuous light
  • 4 frames for foreground, 8 for night sky

You can find more of my work on Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/stevenjmagner

Sort:  

Nice work, glad to start seeing more and more content like this!

Thank you @azfix

I have a lot more coming from this year :)

Great to hear, I hope to post more as well and always enjoy learning from fellow Milky Way photographers

WOW!! Seriously fantastic! !

Thank you, Jason!

Hey and welcome to Steemit!

Could you be so kind to verify you really are said instagrammar? We sometimes get people who pretend to be others because of the posting rewards.

How do I verify that it actually is me?

A comment on one of your instagram photos for example verifying that this is you.

That is a great shot. I followed you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70