[PHOTOGRAPHY] Old Man on Ferry 📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I spotted this gentleman on the ferry between St. Goar and St. Goarshausen last month and I couldn't resist pointing my camera towards him. It was the first time I took a photo of a stranger, so I felt somewhat uncomfortable with it. I think he noticed that I photographed him, but he seemed to be completely OK with it. What say the photo community here on Steemit; do you have some sort of policy on photographing strangers?

 @SteemSwede

Sort:  

Very nice shot and good idea to crop it. Cut off the distracting parts. Get rid of the left of the view of the building, and get solid white background.
If the person gets irritated or start asking questions just tell them that you are a street photographer. A very intimate shot like this may border on the laws of "portrait", but look at photojournalists and the shots they get away with, probably never asked their subjects ... and they get posted all over the internet.

Thanks for the feedback @mandibil! I agree, the picture improves when I remove the strip on the left side. If I hadn't been so shy in the moment I would have tried a few more angles. I'm glad I took the shot though. And it's true, compared to what some photo journalists get away with, this is quite innocent.

I'd say it would be polite to mention what the photograph that was taken is going to be used for.

I personally hate it when strangers take pictures on the street saying it's their right to do it. One day in town there where a group of maybe 5 people with cameras just flickering pictures on cars, pedestrians and everything. No asking or hiding it.

Nice picture though. He seems to be wondering about all the things in the world

I see what you mean. In the future I will ask, at least afterwards, if it's OK to keep and possibly upload the photo. The thing is, if you ask before you take a photo you will miss the facial expression you're looking for / it won't look spontaneous and natural. Thanks for the feedback.

Absolutely, you take a picture for the moment. It can't be asked for. But maybe afterwards explain why and what purpose it will be used for? I mean, you could sell it for commercial usage for weed for all we know 😋

My point is that I personally would like to know if it's just for personal reference or for an art, commercial or sales purposes.

Just my opinion though.

Oh, saw your b/w photo of it now. Looks really nice. You caught some nice moment there.

Thanks, I appreciate it! I could try tracking him down with some face finder software :p

That's just creepy 😅

That old man looks great! The picture is wonderful!

Thanks!

Hi @steemswede, I don't have a policy, but I feel awkward when taking photos in a restaurant off the people sitting there in general, to use in posts to give an idea of what the place looks like. I don't even take a picture of somebody in particular, but you can see some people wonder what you are doing taking photos like that.
Nice photos, I like the black and white on at the top!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74