SteemitPhotoChallenge #46 Entry: Bokeh Masquerade (2 Original Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When the lights go down, the masks come out. Come celebrate the Bokeh Masquerade with us!

Here is my entry into @jamtaylor Steemit Photo Challenge. The theme for this week's contest is "Bokeh".

Bokeh is the effect caused by the internal working of a camera's lens when it attempts to render out-of-focus lights or highlights from objects outside the set depth of field. Opening your camera's aperture, lowering the f-stop value, will increase this effect by allowing only a short distance (depth of field) to be in focus, everything in front or behind this distance will render out-of-focus.

Bokeh_02.jpg
Color shifted to Red in Photoshop, no other edits.

Bokeh_01.jpg
Portrait layout photo showing the reflections in the marble and original blue color.



These photos were taken with my Nikon 5300 using a 50mm f1.8 lens at a distance of about 24" from the setup. Camera settings were ISO 200 and aperture wide open at f1.8. You can see in the photos, the focal range was very short, only about 2" behind the mask and the wine glasses already go out of focus. The blue mini LED lights were loosely arranged about 24" behind the set up.


Bokeh_03.jpg
Objects used in my bokeh photo set up.




Let me know your thoughts about my photos in the comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I like the red picture better.

i like the salamander in ur profile pic its smiling

Hey Matt, I learn towards that one too because it helps push the mask in front as the focal point.

Im a fan of cool colors, blue it is for me. It's almost like everything is encased in a block of ice.

:-) I am a fan of the original blue - it worked so well with the blue flecks in the marble and the glass back-splash in our kitchen, but the red has that extra Masquerade Party vibe and really puts the focus on the mask.

well done... I need to put some more work into my lighting setup!

Thank you @fraenk. I saw your entry, we had a similar set up, I just shot mine in the dark.

yes, we absolutely did... however I think yours captures the "glitter and glamour" a bit better than mine tbh!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

so sooo beautifulls @ steempowerpics

Thank you @shahzaib, I'm happy you like my work.

Congratulations @steempowerpics! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

follow me steempowerpics ...i already followed u and upvoted u...if u have some time upvote me my some posts its appriciate me

I love this! Feels like the perfect fit for this week's theme, good luck :D

Thank you @playfulfoodie for the support. I am happy you like my work.

Very nice. Both photos have their own beauty about them. Of course I'm partial to the blue one because I love blue. lol. The red is mesmerizing! Upvoted....and indeed followed and I'm interested to see what else you produce.

Thank you so much, and thank you for the support. I appreciate it.

Anytime! I'm no fancy photographer like yourself. Generally my shots are just luck. But you are more than welcome to take a peek and shoot any critism my way. Learning comes from experience and teachers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41