Part 3: Underwater Photography: 4 Original Photos from My Underwater Dreams ProjectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This project explored materials and textures, color, surface reflections, and the human form to capture some really amazing photographs. Here are a few more photos from my first underwater photography project titled "Underwater Dreams".

As I mentioned in my previous underwater photography posts, they were ALL taken with a Fuji XP80 sport camera. With proper lighting (full sun) and calm, clear water, this camera does a great job giving me the base photos to work from and digitally enhance to create the final images.

Underwater-Part3-1.jpg

This session took about 3 hours, from 11AM to 2PM, and required a lot of patience from me and the models with passing clouds and fabrics that floated freely in the currents. This third part of the session continued with a white netting material to act as a contrasting color for the blues, then moved to just the human form and its reflection in the surface of the water itself.

Underwater-Part3-2.jpg

Holding positions underwater is not easy and takes a bit of trial and error to find poses that create an interesting reflection in the water's surface above the model. For this, the model must be given proper credit for her efforts, grace, and patience. The water must remain relatively calm with only minor surface ripples to get the desired results, too many bubbles can also block the model and ruin the shot as well.

For these I used the "beach daylight" settings on the camera, NOT the "underwater" setting as you might think. That setting mutes out the skin tones and results in an overall blue-ish tint to the photos with splotchy shadow areas.

Underwater-Part3-3.jpg

In the coming months as I get going here on Steemit I will make many of photos in my collections available for purchase. If you want to get future posts on when I make them available, be sure to follow me.


Stay tuned for more photos from my underwater sessions.

Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!



Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Very good ! Keep it in the future! @steempowerpics

Interesting work @steempowerpics! Very surreal!

Thank you @longshot, Glad you like. I have 2 other posts from the series a few weeks back, I just didn't link them in this post.

I saw the first one. I'll go back and check out the 2nd. Looks like it was a fun shoot! I'd probably have trouble holding my breath long enough to focus though!

The first two are absolutely my faves!

Thank you. I love the way they came out. The wholes series has such variations from the more vibrant gold set, to these softer white ones. It takes more effort, but they make for some unique photos.

They are perfect 💧

I love underwater pictures! I especially love the first one. Something about the material in sync with the water's movement. It's beautiful.

Thank you. :-) It took a lot of patience and practice to get the materials to flow where we wanted them to go.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57