📷 MACRO Photography : 6 Original Pictures From Around The Gardens

Macro-1-PowerPics.png
Yellow Clintmore Cluster Tomato Flowers. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

This morning started off like most of my mornings, I spent some time in the gardens to give all the plants a quick once-over. After checking on the tomato, cucumber and pepper plants in our front hydroponics garden I started watching a couple of Long-Legged Flies (Dolichopus) jumping all around the cucumber leaves. They are entertaining to watch as it appears as though they are playing tag with each other and their brightly metallic-colored bodies sparkle in the sunlight.

After watching for a while, I thought it would be cool to take a few pictures of them if they would just sit still for a few seconds. I went inside and got my camera and 70-300mm lens, which you may think is an odd choice of lenses, but I planned to use it in macro mode.

Macro-3-PowerPics.png
Long-Legged Fly (Dolichopus) on a leaf in my garden. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

It wasn't easy tracking and focusing on these little guys as they are only about 1/4" in length and don't sit still for more than a few seconds. Given their rapid movements and the breeze shaking the leaves I was happy to have gotten a few decent shots with acceptable clarity of focus, although not as detailed as I was hoping for. I was trying to get the details of the little hairs around its head and eyes. Next time I suppose.

As a side note for any other home gardeners, these flies are one of the 'good guys' in the garden so don't shoo them away when you see them. The hunt around for aphids, mites, and pesky white flies, as well as larvae from other insects on your plants.

Macro-2-PowerPics.png
A Leaf on the Ground. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

Since I had the lens already on my camera, I started taking pictures of other things that caught my attention in our gardens. Tomato vine flowers, leaves on the ground, the lizards warming up in the morning Sun, and the water drops splashing in the Koi pond.

I ended up with a wide mix of subjects and selected a few for this post today.

Macro-4-PowerPics.png
Brown Lizard on the Edge of the Koi Pond. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

This guy was 100% aware of my presence and watched me watching him the whole time, but most of the lizards seem to be used to us being around in the gardens and don't run off right away - unless we get too close for comfort.

Macro-5-PowerPics.png
Pink Bougainvillea Flowers along our front fence. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

We have Bougainvillea plants lining the fence of our front garden. It's been about 2 years since that last bloomed for whatever reason. Now that they have finally grown to the top of the fence, they act as a natural 'barb-wire' to keep the irritating squirrels out. 1 point for the humans.

Macro-6-PowerPics.png
Water drops from the Koi Pond Fountain. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

I have been focused on all the project developments and events happening within our Whaleshares community lately and not posting as much of my art and photography as I should be. I will try to showcase more of my work again in the coming days and weeks.


Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me
if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I remember my days of photography. I used to roam around in the city gardens with my Nikon and capture similar pictures. Don't know when I will be back with my clicking craze. But currently, your pictures made me feel myself as a photographer.

Very Cool, I especially like the fly. I bought a macro lens for my Olympus E-PL this winter so I can hopefully get some good honeybee pics this summer. Now I just need to learn how to use it :-)

Awesome! I look forward to seeing some up close and personal bee pics this summer :-)
The trick to good closeup macros is holding your breathe just before you take the pic, then easy on the shutter button ~ it keeps you steady so the subject is sharply in focus.

Beautiful pictures! "Nature is always fascinating for those who know how to appreciate it, look at the striking colors of this little flying insect, your pink flowers here in Venezuela are called Trinitarias.

Thank you :-) Nature sure has lots of wonders for us if we keep our eyes open for them.

Excellent photography my friend @steempowerpics

WOW! Very nice. I hope one day I could have that talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74