📷 MACRO Photography : 5 Original Photos From The Veggie Garden

Macro-03-PowerPics.png
Supersweet Cherry Tomato Cluster ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

Once again this morning I spent some time in the gardens, as I do each day, to give all the plants a quick once-over. I had my camera ready to go today since it was already set from the last week's pictures. Using the same setup and settings as before, Nikon D5300 w/70-300mm lens set to Macro, I took some pictures from around the veggie garden.

Macro-02-PowerPics.png
Cherry Hearts Tomato Cluster ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

One of the interesting features on the vines are the little hairs called trichomesthat that line the stems and leaves of tomato plants. They serve the purpose of protecting the plants from many types of insects looking to feed or lay eggs on them. Some of them produce a sticky residue that goo up the insects, and I think act as an irritant to some of them as well.

I know I have to be careful and remember not to touch or rub my eyes when working with tomato plants and wash my hands thoroughly afterwards or suffer the consequences of many hours of itching eyes for the day.

Macro-01-PowerPics.png
Supersweet Cherry Tomato Flowers. ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

Capturing these super thin hairs glistening in the sunlight takes a steady hand and a steady subject plant. Even with a high shutter speed setting, a gentle breeze or even your own pulse can put the hairs out of focus. The image of the yellow flowers above is not as sharp in focus as I would have liked it to be, but I liked the composition of the overall image.

Macro-04-PowerPics.png
Supersweet Cherry Tomato Cluster ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

The growing end of cucumber vines are incredible intricate clusters of leaves, coiled tendrils, and developing cucumber nodes all jam-packed together. There can literally be 6-8 "steps" (consisting of a leaf, tendril, cucumber, branch node) wrapped up in the 1.5" tip of the growing vine. The marvels of nature never cease to amaze me. Plus, they make for great photos.

Macro-05-PowerPics.png
Tyria Cucumber Vine ~ 300mm/3.5ft Macro

I have enjoyed getting out and taking new photos from the garden and sharing them with everyone. I will continue to showcase more of my work in the coming days and weeks.


Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me
if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wish I could post nice garden pictures like yours. But I can't.

Do you mean you don't have a garden, or just not season for your area yet?

I mean it's under snow. ☃️

You've nicely photographed natural lily tomato and other photos very nicely to me, I'm very good at hope for your next post.

Great pictures...looking forward for more of your garden updates! :)

20180131_120740.jpg Aphids on mint leaves.

Please can you help me with Upvote I wanna to buy a ticket for NY am student ❤️ PLEASE

Your photography is really awesome,i always like your photography..

very looking garden photography post...
thanks for sharing...

very nice photographs and veggies are beautiful most of the time in the garden

I'll post flowers for my blog, hope you will like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11