🦋 A Gardener's Nemesis - Those Evil Moths and Butterflies

Just ask anyone who grows their own food at home what they think about the beautiful butterflies and moths that flutter around the garden and you will get an answer you might not expect.

Tomato-Hornworms-01-SteemPowerPics.png
A Tobacco Hornworm making itself at home in our garden. Grrrrrr!

😡 To put it bluntly... WE HATE THEM!

Gardening in itself is a never ending battle with and against the forces of nature and if you don't have the luxury of an indoor growing environment like a greenhouse to protect your crops you learn to hate certain critters that most people adore.

Butterflies, Moths, Squirrels, and Birds are high on the enemy list (among other "less-cute" insects) when your growing your own food. They are persistent, fast, and cause lots of damage and loss of yield.

These mean looking critters are called "Hornworms" and come in two varieties, Tomato and Tobacco. The both come from really cool looking Sphinx Moths, but are very destructive to tomato plants. As they grow they continuously devour the leaves and can spread any topical funguses or diseases on the plants like blight and powder mildew.

Tomato-Hornworms-02-SteemPowerPics.png

While these guys are a pain in the ass all season, they come in a big surge in early Spring. If you don't check the leaves daily and brush of any of the little green eggs the moths lay, you will first notice little holes in the leaves. I usually break off the leaf I find them hiding under and discard it, but apparently I missed 3 of them over the last 10 days.

Yesterday while inspecting the new tomato garden at my in-law's house, I found 3 Tobacco Hornworms at were about 2.5 inches in length. They do grow fast, and devour a lot of leaves each day as they get bigger. After taking some pictures, I removed the leaves they were on and carefully checked to make sure I didn't miss any as they do blend in really well.

Tomato-Hornworms-03-SteemPowerPics.png

While these things look super evil with that big horn spike in the back, they are not actually dangerous. Supposedly that spike is NOT a stinger of any kind and I have seen gardener just pick them off with their fingers. However, I don't feel like I should test that theory and avoid touching them in the process of removing the leaves.

As far as identifying which type you have in when you see them, Tomato Hornworms have a black spike and v-shaped white stripes, the Tobacco Hornworms have a reddish spike and parallel white stripes angled to the back. So, in our garden, they were Tobacco flavor. ;-)

Tomato-Hornworms-04-SteemPowerPics.png

So, don't get upset when I tell you I HATE butterflies and moths... I have a good reason.



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I like using this natural home made spray. Side note, I like growing sunflowers that I don't spray for the birds and bees to enjoy.

You have to wonder how many of replies have actually read your post lol (poor butterflies) ;-)

I see your post also showed on whaleshares. I have yet to successfully register on that site.

Oh you need to join the whaleshares community new things are coming.

LOL Yeah, Amazing how the random comments come rolling in all the time.

Definitely swing by our Discord to join in and get updates as we go along.
https://discord.gg/E9Rm9yT

Whaaa? That thing ain't a stinger? Man, like you, I wouldn't want to touch that either...Although, they are very photogenic!

Very true! They make for interesting pictures, but I don't want to touch them and I don't want them eating my plants. :-)

Oh, in uganda there are more of monkeys, and scare crows are often used by farmers to chase them away though some of them are wise to an extent of uprooting the scare crows from the ground. But thanks

:-) I suppose no matter where we live we all have "critters" to protect our gardens from.

What this is.?

Seriously? I just wrote an entire post about what it is.

thanks.. nice animal photo like follow you blog .

Just beautyful. Great shoots.

Amazing Shoots.. so nice picture. Follow me & upvote me .. i will do same .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45