The Cemetery of the Ants .....

in #photography7 years ago

Greetings steemians!

In my walk in the courtyard of my house I could see a dark stain on the floor. I approached and saw that there were remains of bodies of several ants. I took my Sony Cyber-shot camera and made this video:

It turns out that the natural behavior of ants is that when one of them dies from war or natural wounds, the other ants carry the inert body to a place near their colony (anthill) and deposit it in a "graveyard of Ants ".

Apparently dead ants emit a characteristic smell that is detected by cleaning ants that move the body out of the anthill to prevent the spread of infectious bacteria.

Sort:  

:)

Excelent

Awesome the world of ants

I’ve never seen anything like this before. Great post!

Followed :)

I'm glad you liked it. The idea is to make known the wonders that happen around us @riskybiscuit

Upvoted!
Wow! The fact that ants convey their dead members very close to the anthill suggests that they live a communal life like human beings. Brilliant observation from you and many thanks for sharing.

They certainly have a behavior that attracts attention my friend @globalfoodbook

Very interesting behaviour I must say.

It's insane how smart they are for such tiny creatures! Thank you for sharing this with us.

Although people find it hard to admit, animals do not only act on instinct ..... they have intelligence

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74