Photo Blog #1

Ok, so here it is, my first photography blog on Steemit.

I had the day off work today so I decided to go down to the river Thames. Where I live there is an island that you can access which has a weir and various animals. Nothing exotic unfortunately, but that's what you get in the UK. Like the weather, we like to avoid extremes and stick to the middle ground haha.

Unfortunately I had the silly idea of taking my 105mm macro lens out for a spin. Now don't get me wrong, this is a fantastic lens but it's a prime lens and this really limited me on a narrow island. I should have taken my 70-300mm, I missed out on a couple of great shots. But you make do with what you have...

So here are a few of the shots I got on the island and on the way back.

Autumn is coming
IMG_8014.jpg

What a true macro lens can do
IMG_8017.jpg

This is the weir, you often see white water kayakers practicing here
IMG_8019.jpg

A pig of some sorts...
IMG_8022.jpg

A bird, probably a lesser spotted winged hawk...?
IMG_8031.jpg

The River Thames
IMG_8056.jpg

Birds in flight are a bitch to shoot
IMG_8086.jpg

So happy I got this one
IMG_8092.jpg

Canadian Goose, vicious little bastards if you piss them off
IMG_8106.jpg

Maidenhead Bridge. This is Grade 1 Listed
IMG_8110.jpg

So that was all I got today, I needed the fresh air and walk to clear my head. Despite the wrong lens choice, I am quite happy with these. Plus I burnt off some calories, so that's always a bonus. I hope you like them, feel free to comment.

See you on the next one!

Thanks, Colm

<666>

Sort:  

Congratulations @steelmagnolia666! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44