Why I love Street Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I enjoy most genres of photography and over the last 30 years I have experimented with portrait, landscape, macro, fashion, action and many other categories and enjoyed them all. Despite owning and using cameras for 30 years I still feel like I am learning every day and I have nearly 20,000 photos in my Lightroom library.

Whilst I enjoy all most types of photography the one I enjoy the most is street photography. I find it forces me to think on my feet and try to find a moment that will make a great picture in real-time. Below is a small sample of the images I have taken over the years.

This first photo was taken in my home town of Burnley, in the UK. It was taken with my Fuji X100s held at waist height, and like most of the shots below I had the camera set to manual focus at a pre-set distance for my subject.

DSCF6640-Edit.jpg

The next shot below was captured in the same way, with the camera at waist height. I'm not sure I would have got such a natural photo (though I may have got something else) had I asked for permissions.

DSCF6485-Edit.jpg

This shot was at a local May Day market where this book seller was sampling his own wares while he awaited interested customers. Again, waist high shot; It takes some practise to master but the results are worth the effort.

DSCF6558-Edit-Edit.jpg

This next shot was taken at the same market where this couple were having some fun in the sun. The subjects red hair matched the ice lolly almost perfectly.

DSCF6600-Edit.jpg

Next, one of the workers at the market taking a well deserved rest with his companion on such a hot day.

DSCF6575-Edit-Edit.jpg

Now for one a little different. This was match-day at Burnley Football Club where my daughter was buying a raffle ticket for the match from Rocky (not the boxer). This time the camera was held to my eye as both of them weren't aware of me.

DSCF6147-Edit.jpg

This photo was taken in the quaint village of Haworth in West Yorkshire. The gentleman's t-shirt probably tells an interesting story and I doubt I couldn't have gotten such a relaxed photo in any other way.

DSC_0361-Edit.jpg

Finally, this lovely fellow works in and around Burnley market. In this instance I had spoken to him first and asked for permission knowing I would be rewarded with such a lovely smile. I gave him the details of my website so he could download a copy for himself.

DSCF6736-Edit.jpg

If you enjoyed this post then please like, comment and resteem. I will be posting more photos from my collection in the coming weeks.

Sort:  

Did the guy with the skull chain chase you around town after that shot. Surely he must have noticed you were taking that pic!

Nope, he didn’t notice. I was just walking past him with the camera on a strap around my neck.

The Fuji has a leaf shutter, so it is completely silent in operation.

The bloke with the 'lovely smile' looks a little familiar somehow. I haven't visited said market for many years though.

He’s one of the street sellers that sometimes works either outside the front of the market where the fountain used to be, or on St James street.

All stunning shots, your right the waist level angle works as it opens up the picture a lot more.

Thanks Harvey. I will do an article on why the Fuji is so well suited to this type of photography.

I do like the tiltable screen on my X70...

Fuji sure do make a great camera. I've had the XT1 and XE1 but my favourite Fuji camera is definitely the X100 series. There is something special about the small size, hybrid viewfinder and the leaf shutter that I have never experienced in any other camera.

amazing photos 👍

Thanks. I appreciate the feedback.

I love to see street photography too. The graet Henri Cartier-Bresson comes to my mind thinking about this genre. Yeah black and white!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84