(Bad) Planetary photography - Saturn

in #photography5 years ago

Hi Steemit - it has been a while. I've still been around reading the odd post but haven't been particularly active. I have however spent a little more time doing things that interest me but have been put on the back burner for a while - one such item is a little star gazing and viewing planets through my telescope.

I saw Saturn for the first time around 4 weeks ago and I have to admit I got a tad excited over something that looks exactly like I expected. It's a little different when you see these things with your own eyes from your own front lawn though. This photo really doesn't do Saturn any justice but I'm still a newb when it comes to taking photos of things such a long way off - it's quite a process!

IMG_0226.JPG

Although naff I'm still pretty chuffed considering at its closest Saturn is some 746 million miles (1.2 billion kilometers) away; I saw it with my own eyes is a little more clarity than this photo.

Just to put things into perspective here's a little video demonstrating the scale of planets within our solar system.

Mind boggling isn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94