Eden Falls Lost River Canyon

I have a friend that I used to work with that I have helped with getting into photography. Every once in a while we take a trip to various places to take photos and have fun! On the day these were taken, my friend and I (along with her daughter who is interested in both photography and videography!), we initially headed to the Turpentine Creek Wildlife Sanctuary (those pictures to come later). We got done much earlier than we had expected, and none of us wanted to go home yet. So my friend did a Google search and found Eden Falls. The Google pictures looked really pretty, and the hike was 2 miles long, so we decided to go!

3M3A1991.jpg

The fact that Google Maps got us lost should have been a clue that this day might not come out the way we expected. It literally kept taking us down all these dirt roads. When we ended up on what I'm pretty sure was a private driveway, we decided to turn around. Google Maps finally caught up with us and got us to where we wanted to go.....

3M3A1996.jpg

My friend's daughter actually told all her friends we almost died trying to get there. Not even close, but she's 13....

3M3A2074.jpg

Heading down the 2 mile (round trip) path, I started noticing signs that began to make me nervous.....

3M3A2091.jpg

No part of the riverbed that the path was following seemed to have ANY water in it.

3M3A2104.jpg

But we kept going anyways. There's no reward when you give up early, right....?

3M3A2227.jpg

This was actually a short cut to the falls, they called it a "natural bridge". I guess if there had been water it might have made sense.
This is also where I heard the most ominous sentence one here's when walking to see a waterfall... "OMG! We came all this way for NOTHING!" This was said by someone in a group ahead of us.

3M3A2253.jpg

There were a LOT of stairs!!!!

3M3A2272.jpg

If there had been water, this whole area would have been covered.

3M3A2344.jpg

Fortunately, there was no water, so this little guy got to join us on our quest!

3M3A2366.jpg

Not only was there no water in the riverbed, there was no waterfall! AT ALL! This is where it was SUPPOSED to be. We just walked a mile all uphill for nothing! We were so disappointed!

3M3A2395.jpg

Ok, I was wrong, there were a few drips...

3M3A2443.jpg

On the way back, I found a mushroom I liked....

3M3A2455.jpg
3M3A2462.jpg
3M3A2469.jpg

I loved this shack. I couldn't decide which photo of it I liked best, so I posted all of them.

We decided later that, even though there was no waterfall, we still had a fun trip! Plus, we all got some photos we liked, so it was worth it after all!

Hope you enjoyed, please upvote/comment/resteem!

starrkravenmaf.png

Sort:  

Beautiful
Amazing
Creative

Thank you so much!

@starrkravenmaf, these photos are incredible. My favorite is the rock stair case.

It looks so right, but out of place at the same time. You kinda want to look away, but just can't.

Thanks! It actually was rather out of place. This was the first actual staircase, but definitely wasn't the last!

I bet during Spring it will be full! Or just after a big rain. It's still really pretty though. Glad you had a good time despite the disappointment.

Apparently it's been dry for a few years. We just didn't know it until we got there. But we had a fun adventure and plan on going to other places too!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I enjoyed scrolling down and seeing each new part of your adventure...almost like I went on the walk with you! Keep up the great work! Beautiful photos! <3

Thanks! I really appreciate that!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @starrkravenmaf to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Beutiful, u have a great story, thanks for sharing.

such a great work wonderful shots really love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71