Travelling with Stabilo #2: Destination - Hallstatt, Day 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Travelling with Stabilo #2: Destination - Hallstatt, Day 2


by_lake1_resized.jpg


Check out the previous part of my travel story here

Morning came quickly as I had a sound sleep. When I woke, the sky was still overcasted but at least it wasn’t raining. I made myself a nice breakfast of sausage and egg with instant noodle (instant noodle is damn expensive in Austria). I also almost choked on a mouthful of grounded coffee as I mistaken it for instant coffee. When I got out of the apartment the sun was still hiding behind the clouds, and the town was shrouded in low clouds. A cat followed me wanting a pat. How could I refuse.


Morning hostel path_resized.jpg

morning_village_resized.jpg

cat2_resized.jpg


The funicular was not going to start until 9 am. So I strolled to the lakeside to take in the beautiful scenery. It was quiet, misty, and extremely tranquil. I sat on a bench and basked under the morning sun, and watched ducks and swans swam by. Suddenly, out of nowhere, a bus load of tourist was dumped in front of me, followed by frenzied snapping and clicking with each person wanting a shot with the beautiful backdrop. Oh well, it was almost 9 am anyway, so I headed my way towards the funicular station.


Morning_Lake1_resized.jpg

lake_duck_resized.jpg

lake_swan_resized.jpg

Lake_Panorama1_resized.jpg


With funiculars, you would want to be either the first in or the last in, so you can actually get a good view from the window rather than stuck squashed standing in the middle. I was lucky to be the second person in-line for the very first funicular ride of the day. The funicular took us up 825m to the start of the Salzburg Trail. This is also where Rudolfsturm, a medieval defence tower turned salt mine manager quarters, is located. Rudolfsturm is now a restaurant, serving delicious food amid the amazing scenery offered by Lake Hallstatt. Just outside Rodolfsturn was the Hallstatt skywalk, which offer a vintage point for the whole of Hallstattsee region. In the early morning, the visibility was quite low, but it was still breathtaking.


Gondola_resized.jpg

morning_mountain_restaurant_resized.jpg

hike_start_resized.jpg

mist_resized.jpg


I continued on the Salzburg trail, breathing in the fresh mountain air. The Salzburg track trail past the Salzwelten, the Hallstatt historical salt mine, which is the oldest salt mine in Europe, dating back 6 BC. It is also a major tourist attraction in Hallstatt. However, I skipped straight past the entrance and head instead to the abandoned building next door which was covered with moss and other plants growing wildly. I was more interested in the scenery and nature than the tourist park that the salt mine has now become.


hike1_resized.jpg

hike4_resized.jpg


I soon found that the trail was harder than I thought, as most of the time it was steeply uphill. Within 15 minutes I was huffing and puffing and realised to my horror that I forgot to bring water. But I marched on. There were still houses sparsely spaced along the trail. I wasn’t sure whether people still live in them. A little bit higher up, I came across a hut. There was fresh flowing alpine water at the hut which I gladly drank. I looked back at the beautiful scenery as the sky started to clear up. I wasn’t that high up really, even though I felt like I have already walked for hours. Mt Plassen towered in front of me. There was no way that I could go all the way up that mountain, even though the signs said 2 hours is enough to cover the grounds. I decided to just go for a little bit more, and then head back down. Up the mountain tracks, there were a lot of small wooden house which I initially thought were huts. It turns out that they were pump houses.


Mountain_path_resized.jpg

hike3_resized.jpg

hike5_resized.jpg

hike6_reszied.jpg

hike2_resized.jpg


I walked a bit further until I was at a cross road. It was clearly a sign that I shouldn’t go on. I decided to stop and headed back down to Rudolfsturm for my well-deserved lunch. The sky was all clear now, and the view at the restaurant was amazing. I ordered a ravioli and a coke, and soak in the nice summer sun and the priceless view.


mine_resized.jpg

lunch_resized.jpg

Lakeview from restaurant_resized.jpg

town from top_resized.jpg


After lunch I followed the Müllerstiege trail starting at the back of Rudolfsturm which lead straight back down to the centre of the town. The mid-day sun changed the vibe of the town. Everything now seems so vibrant and alive. I explored parts of the town that I have not seen before.


town_from_top_resized.jpg

town2_resized.jpg

town3_resized.jpg

town4_resized.jpg

town1_resized.jpg

town5_resized.jpg


There was a cemetery located on the north end of the town up a small hill. The cemetery was lovely with colourful flowers, but there was also a bone house which housed almost 2000 human skulls. Apparently the tradition started in the 1700s when the residents in Hallstatt ran out of room for their deceased families and started storing their bones and skull in the bone house instead. They wrote and painted the bones of these skulls to signify the love to their dead loved ones.


bone1_resized.jpg

bone2_resized.jpg


For the rest of the day, I just laid on a sunbathing bench next to the lake and basked in the glorious afternoon sun, taking in the scenery and pondered about life. When one sees scenery like this, one can’t help but think how amazing this world is and how life really is not that bad. With this happy thought, I ended my day with a schnitzel and a cold beer, and headed back to my comfy apartment.


dinner_resized.jpg


~To Be Continued~

Sort:  

What a wonderful place!
Really beautiful.
I follow you now.

This is a great place to visit! Thanks gor the detailed narratives

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stabilowl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

thats some nice pictures.

Thank you for your support

这才是世外桃源,美若仙境。刚查了一下,你的旅行地是哈尔斯塔特,原来是在奥地利。家家户户门前都有花有草,真是很美好

嗯,是的,在奥地利。忘记说了。是很漂亮的地方,以后有钱退休就去这

I love those houses, so colorful. I will imagine people live in there just like cartoon characters live in a fairy tale.
And the landscape is so amazing, too.

Yes the houses and landscape are so beautiful! The peoples are mostly friendly too. My host to my Air BnB was especially friendly.

全是英文,真厉害。

那是因为我打英文比打中文要快多啦

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36