Views from Mount Wank, Germany

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

The fantastically named Mount Wank is located in southern Germany close to the Austrian border and the town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen.  

It stands at 1,780 metres, and on a sunny October day the views over the Bavarian Alps and valleys was spectacular.  

I took a cable car up and down the mountain, as I was with my two little girls, so hiking was unfortunately out of the question.   These things sway quite a bit if you move around, which just adds to the fun (or terror if you're afraid of heights!).

The station is amusingly called the 'Wankbahn'.  There is also a hut at the top called the 'Wankhaus'.  

The town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen is dominated by mountains, and sits in the shadow of Mount Wank.   The town is very picturesque, as is the countryside that surrounds it.




Sort:  

Nice trip! I think you would appreciate my tour in the Dolomites, just published. have a look and let me know...
Keep in touch!

I checked this out earlier - nice work - I love the mountains in this part of the world!

I like Germany

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51