Best Camera For Vloggers | Quick Pro Tip

in #photography6 years ago

If you’re a vlogger…

Your camera can be your biggest asset. However, with so many out there, which one is the right one? That’s a good question, one that’s hard to answer! I do think I can provide you with an answer though!

All my career I was using my trusty Nikon D5200. This camera was the best thing to me since sliced bread. And it served it’s purpose,

until…

I started vlogging. This camera was big, bulky, had a terrible autofocus, and just wasn’t convenient to carry around. Now I know a lot of vloggers do in fact use big DSLR’s. However I found something a little more, let’s say tasteful.

Sony a5100

camera.jpg
Source

When I first got my Sony, I was stunned. This was a lightweight, all-in-one package that I had been looking for. 24 megapixels, extremely fast and accurate autofocus, 60fps recording capabilities in 1080p.

The picture was crystal clear, it was gorgeous. And, the flip out selfie screen was perfect. This was the exact reason I chose it over something like the A7. I wanted the A7, but I needed that selfie screen.

Now my biggest limitation with this camera is that there is no hotshoe mount or audio plug to use an external mic. This can be a big issue, but one that you can get around using a lapel or boom mic.

So if you’re looking for a better camera to vlog with, I highly recommend the a5100. Make sure you get the kit 16-50mm lens with it.

Hope you enjoyed yet another Quick Pro Tip, and I’ll see you guys soon!


I believe that everything I desire to accomplish, will in fact be accomplished.
@spenceryan

Follow me on Instagram
Follow me on my second Instagram
Follow me on Facebook
Follow me on steemit

Sort:  

I’m glad I stumbled accross your page tonight! I’ve been speaking to a few vloggers here in the last couple of weeks about what they use to film as I’m in dire need of an upgrade to make my videos a bit better quality. But with so many options out there, what to choose!
I’m actually really liking the idea of the flip out screen, I bet it makes lining up the shot a hundred times easier!
I have a Nikon SLR as well but it’s just too chunky for the everyday stuff so I think I’ll add the a5100 to my list of things to check out before I buy finally. Thanks for the awesome write up Spencer, I’ve only just sort of discovered you here but I’m going to stick around and keep up with you. See you on the tube!

Hey @tim.clarke! Thanks for stopping by!
I’m with you, the SLR cameras are just too much. I have mine but dont use it for vlogging. This is the perfect replacement! Let me know what you decide on! Just keep in mind the issue with the mic.

Thanks for the support! 👍🏼

yah its great! accurte autofocus, aa5100 is best camera for vlog! i will buy it

Let me know if you get it!

wao... that's looking awesome camera. Soon I will have one like that

I definitely recommend this one!

I can second this camera as just overall a great camera to have. I wish the A6000 had the selfie screen like this, but I think the screen only pops out on that model and doesn't completely flip like the A5100 :(.

Yeah that’s one of the biggest reasons I chose the a5100!

24 megapixels! wow crystal clear indeed it must be

I’ll upload some more of my work some time so you can see!

I own the Song WX500 camera, this is a cheaper alternative to the A5100. There is no changeable lens but has the tiltable screen.

I’ve never looked into the WX500. Glad you mentioned it, I going to take a look at it!
For me, swappable lenses are a must but this could be good for others!

Yes I agree swappable lenses make a massive difference for creating different shots but I've someone is on a budget and looking to just switch a camera on and vlog. WX500 could be a helpful solution :).... p.s i'm now saving for the a1500 didnt even know it existed but may be a better option than my Canon DSLR for practicality

I agree good bang for the buck and the autofocus is really good. I purchased a Lumix GH5 for other purposes and I've been very pleased with it, but the autofocus is not reliable. I generally shoot manual focus anyhow, but for vlogging, you will be happy you have an autofocus like the Sony.

Yes! That’s the exact issue I had with my Nikon, the autofocus was terrible and not suitable for vlogging. I generally shoot manual as well for film making but for vlogging, Continuous AF is 👌🏼

Great post, I totally agree, the sony a5XXX and a6XXX series cameras are stunning performers, fast, accurate AF. Great quality in low light and all in a nice portable package. For my eyes Sony is dominating the video market for entry level all the way through to prosumer at the moment!

I have to agree with you 100% @skiesandsports. I really couldn’t have said it better myself 👌🏼💯

Very nice and powerful camera. I upvote it. Vist blog and upvote my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65780.00
ETH 3522.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47