[Travel Update] Lisbon has a LOT of street art - THE WOMEN

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [Travel Update] Lisbon has a LOT of street art - THE WOMEN


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

A gorgeous collection of females - all in mural form! Lisbon must be an incredibly artistic and colorful place. You have captured me with these photos and now I want to visit.

We are so proud to feature in this week's #LadiesofSteemit Curation!

ladies-of-steemit-vol3.jpg

Ahhh - THANK YOU for this honour! :-) I do hope you will be able to visit the place, I'll come join you, will never get tired of Lisbon :-)

Yes, yes and YES! Thank you for bringing this up! I have really been struggling with the line between sexual objectification of women and a woman’s right to show off her beauty in any way she feels fit. I was just having a conversation with @betterbeing the other day about establishments like Hooters and Twin Peaks which make money off of objectifying women’s bodies. But the women who work there seem to be ok with it and don’t feel objectified. This goes to further your point that we have all been brainwashed in a sense by society and media to believe the way we are viewed and treated is not an issue. I grew up believing that being an attractive woman meant big boobs and a big butt and if you didn’t have these futures you were somehow less womanly. So for me, being a late bloomer and having a slender figure were sources of great insecurity. It is imperative that we are aware of our own brainwashing and find ways to combat it and slowly change our perspective so we can point out the things that need to be changed and help others to reverse the damage and stop the cycle of misogyny and objectification of the female species.

Haha, YES! For your enthusiastic reply :D It IS a struggle and I've been struggling with it personally as well as in discussing it with friends and/or strangers... There are many women who have so deeply integrated the sexist norms of society they indeed don't object to many of the 'rules' we must oblige to. But saying that does not always resonate, and who am I then to say they have been brainwashed? Don't I take seriously their intelligence? I just know I have literally for most of my life not seen the many ways in which I/women have been objectified and set back a few steps in society. I'll keep you updated if I come to write my blog about the subject, would love to hear your views.

(And SO sorry that you've had to feel insecure because of the belief only round/curvy means attractive! <3)

you are really going for it there @soyrosa... drop you in a city somewhere with a camera and you will be fine hehe.

Very cool streetart, and you projected it in a perfect way. Kudos!!

Haha, YES! Drop me anywhere PLEASE! I'll come back with a 100 tiny stories :-)

Loving all this art, especially the one on the street car. It looks mesmerizing.

all pictures are really nice.Great shooting @soyrosa . Did you like the city?

Yes, Lisbon is really really amazing!

hope I get the chance to go there once.Started following you as I really enjoyed your photography work.

Thanks, glad you want to follow :-)

Love steetart, so nice!

Glad you like it @paulavg! :-)

Very nice pictures and angle for the set. Would also like to read about female graffiti writers' thoughts on this theme and the art in general. I'm definitely interested in reading more when you're ready!

Thanks

Thanks for commenting and I'm glad you're interested in the subject! :-)

There's a street art campaign up here for female painters/writers and it's gotten quite nice reputation

That's cool, do you have taken pictures of it? Might be cool to share on Steemit :D I'd love to see it!

Love that flower one!

Thank you! :D

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great photography . These pictures are really amazing and beautifully presented . Thank you for sharing such a beautiful post. Regards @soyrosa

You most welcome my friend . @soyrosa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28