Macro photography is for the bees

in #photography7 years ago

This shot was taken with my Olympus Em-1 and the Olympus 60mm macro lens, which in my opinion is a must have affordable lens for anyone interested in macro photography.

P6180611 bee.jpg

A great tip to get close to subjects that are prone to being skittish is by leaving the tripod at home. I know this goes against almost every bit of photography advice you've ever been given but by ditching the tripod you will be able to slowly "stalk" the subject and get closer.

I only use manual focus and will preset the focus depending on the size of the subject before I start to stalk. Autofocus at this distance is slow to lock and can make you miss the shot. I hold the camera in one hand and a flash in the other. Once I'm close enough I will rock the camera back and forth until the desired focus is achieved.

This technique does take a bit of practice but once mastered will open up your macro photography options and you notice your keeper rate going up. Stay tuned for more examples and tips. Please let me know what you think and enjoy!

Sort:  

Thanks, its one of my favorites

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50