Near Infrared Photography - Morning in the main pit at the quarry.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

After being dropped off by UTV I walked to a corner of the pit in a little shade and got out the filters I use. I screwed on my 720 NM Passthrough filter and got some really unique photos. I rarely use the 720 NM as its the lowest of my nanometer ranges but figured I should give it a try. And glad I did, made some natural shots perfect for #colorchallenge.

The first photo is my entry for #tuesdayorange #colorchallenge started by @kalemandra

P1170758.JPG

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
Filter720nm Infrared Passthrough filter
Aperturef/7.1
Shutter Speed1/320 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumNear Infrared (NIR)
Wavelength720 nanometers
LocationLincolnton, GA USA.

P1170756.JPG

You can see rock hauling equipment and make shift systems all over the quarry as people were setting up.

P1170761.JPG

Areas like Tea Pond were fenced off so no one gets hurt by the acid.

P1170763.JPG

On my last visit Tea Pond was nearly full, but now its missing most of its water. Just a little bit at the end of bed and some around the corner but thats it.

P1170779.JPG

Checking out the large boulders I wonder how much these things weigh.

P1170788.JPG

Some non infrared photos of the rock wall, you can see alot of activity in those rocks. And is the reason people dig here.

P1170795.JPG

Lastly someone working on the wall, looking for the next great find.

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=solominer
Viulyhttps://viuly.io/r/K10856865b97e58d
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228

masternodeandquratorbanner.png

QmZKqWcCXFv6NC6mUtPUBRsETQgc3nEJC2BC4Bwo38BkZ6.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures. Browns and whites are so unique. :-) Normal photos just as stunning.

@manorvillemike

thanks very much, yeah these colors are new to me since im using a different filter than usual.

Glad you like the normal ones too.

Oh my god dude, that looks like a planet I was on when I used to play No Mans Sky on PlayStation.

@cosmiccrimes

Ive played a few hours of NMS so yeah I see what you mean. I do love that about my camera.. It sees alot more than what our eyes can see.

thanks!

I beat that game. Well, the game never actually ends. I made it to the center of the galaxy. It only takes you to another galaxy and crashes your ship completely on a planet where you have to repair it.
You never know what's out there that you can't see with your eyes.

@cosmiccrimes

Ive logged probably at least 10 hours in No Mans Sky but I just found it really repetitive. I never got enough for a bigger ship and just got kinda bored going to all the worlds after seeing them repeat many flora and fauna.. And I didnt enjoy the base building, I like base building in Fallout 4 alot more.

Ha HA, I am glad I quit NMS. I called it no man inventory management.
I never played Fallout. I don't know why I never have. I think I would enjoy it. I love games where you can explore a lot.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah that game had alot of hype but I found quite boring after a few days of playing. GTAV is open world and alot of fun with hacks in single player, Far cry 5 is good though I should play more, and Wildlands was a great open world game too.

I have not had time to play games in a year. I do plan on getting a Nintendo switch. A new Luigi's mansion is coming out on it.

I think most of those boulders would be too big to put in the trunk of your car! Fun photos!

@melinda010100

Hah yeah you need a dump truck or something big like that. Though I have heard of people taking ones that are a few hundred pounds and having them as their garden boulders. So its not unheard of for people to get these boulders. Though special help is usually needed to get it out of the quarry by UTV.

wuao amigo las imágenes todas se ven increíbles

@betaniaj

thank you, I agree they sure are some amazing. Glad you like them.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=solominer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=near-infrared-photography-morning-in-the-main-pit-at-the-quarry


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.230 which ranks you at #21001 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 84 places in the last three days (old rank 20917).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 270 contributions, your post is ranked at #206.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84