Full Spectrum Long Exposure Ultraviolet Fluorescence Photography #6: Tea OlivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

Tea Olive plants are flowering this time of year around where I live. They have a very fragrant flower, they smell like ripe apricots to me. They do not smell as strong as my Ginger flowers I showed off in my last post for Full Spectrum Long Exposure Ultraviolet Fluorescence Photography. I have seen this plant at local botanical gardens, so they seem to be quite happy living in North Georgia.

Since I am using a macro lens, and using a stepped down aperture to get the most light in my focus is very tight. Meaning only small portion of the scene would be in focus. If I step up the aperture the images come out dull, so I am attempting to do "focus stacking".

P118000311.JPG

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus MSC ED M. 60mm
Filternone
Aperturef/2.8
Shutter Speed5 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumFull Spectrum (FS)
Wavelength300-1200 nanometers
LocationGeorgia USA.

P1170928.JPG

You will notice in some of these photos, smudges of where I am trying to merge two or more photos at different focus points. I use multiple layers and create a mask which I then brush in the in focus layers over the out of focus layers.

@brianhphotos does this using special software and plugins to do this and I think his images come out much better. But Ill keep working on this skill.

P1170921.JPG

I used three photos focused on the flower, then mid leaf and then the far right of the leaf. The middle didnt come out too well I think. But seeing through the leaf is really cool.

P1170934.JPG

The plant has a very woody stem, and came out white in these photos. Reminds me of an Aspen tree.

P1180010.JPG

The fractal like pattern on the leaves is transparent. When I shine light behind them you can see them glowing.

P11800141.JPG

The leaves have a serrated appearance, but they wont cut you. Just look kind of pointy.

P1170936.JPG

In the next few photos you can really see the leaf structure.

P1170913.JPG

Honestly I think the leaves look cooler than the flowers. I did not know they would look like this until I got out my black light.

P1170926.JPG

As the light shines through the fractal like patterns light up and crisscross the leaves.

P1170939.JPG

I merged two photos, focusing on the near and far leaf. They merged pretty well I think.

P1180006.JPG

Lastly a few leaves grouped together, when the UV light hits the flower it reflects alot of light. Making it glare compared to the glow of the leaves.


PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=solominer
Viulyhttps://viuly.io/r/K10856865b97e58d
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228

masternodeandquratorbanner.png

QmY47QpUGfm3F7HPbB2qvXfTnm8EQtdSK9mPw63JqFtkua.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

Sort:  

Attractive haunting look.

That is a fabulous set of photos. The lighting effect is stunningly cool!

@momzillanc

Thank you, I am stunned as well how the blacklight and long exposures really bring out unique effects.

This photos made the plant look magical. I never seen this kind of plant before.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah they dont seem to be very common in America. More of an Asian plant.

I did not think we had any at all.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah maybe, you probably have cherry trees and apple trees. More frost hardy plants and trees.

We did when I was growing up in the mountains. We had a cherry tree but the damn birds were so greedy they leave us none.

@cosmiccrimes

Hah damn birds, they eat my blueberries so I feel ya.

We used to have blueberries too. A Blight killed them out years ago. The bird population here is high.

This ultraviolet fluorescence and the green of the plants looks good, but so strange. Infrared, Ultraviolet ... what comes next, @solominer?

@johannpiber

Yeah I really like these strange photos, I learn new things with every plant I examine under black light.

Id say more plants, im sure there are most mysteries to discover with other plants.

I think the green fractals in the leafs structure are thin walls of chlorophyll. Making them glow with the blacklight. I love it, super cool.. thanks for the comment.

Yes, it looks really cool and I am curious, what comes next from you ;)

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.234 which ranks you at #20407 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 122 places in the last three days (old rank 20529).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #406.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33