Cactus cutting has new growthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Awhile back I was able to get ahold of some Pricky Pear cactus cuttings. There was a road being ripped up and the cactus were strewn about as part as clearing the area.

Most of the cuttings I got were placed in the ground and they seem to be doing well.

One of the cuttings I got was placed on the surface of the soil.. and a few months later it has some vertical growth. The cactus must be forming roots underneath but i did not want to disturb its growth.

I placed woodchips around the cactus, to help retain moisture and to give the plant long term nutrients from the decomposing bark. Some violet weeds were trying to grow next to it.. I cleared them out not to interfere with the cactus growth.

I was expecting the cutting to do this. I've had experience growing cactus like this in the past and shows how resilient these cactus are. I hope in a few years they will produce fruit. Looking forward to eating some.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

They have such a tremendous life force within them 😃

@joelsegovia they sure do, I love seeing them. Thanks for the comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

@innerblocks and @hafizullah sweet, thanks alot for the curation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55