Abandoned Rural China School House Photo Journal

in #photography7 years ago

I asked her to show me where she went to school when she was a child. Doesn't look they have any students here now.


There aren't many people out here now, as China developed most of the younger generation moved to the cities meaning less students with in walking distance. This about a 30 minute walk from her home I would guess but if your walking you can cut through the fields and find short cuts.

The playing field has been converted in to what looks like corn stalks sticking up out of the ground like sharp spears; booby traps if you're not careful.

Over at the other end of property are the outdoor no running water bathrooms. I'm sure on a cold day with snow up to your waist this was not a fun trip.

Even though the classrooms have been stripped of anything of value the chalkboards survived even what appears to be the last lessons still scribbled in it. I couldn't see a chimney hole so I wondered how they kept warm in the winter, maybe I just missed it.

Here is the back of the teachers building. I'm not sure if they all lived here but I'm sure it had sleeping arrangements as well as offices. It's a big open space without walls. There may have been some sort of partitions that have since been looted.

It has an amazing view looking out of the classroom windows. It must have been quite peaceful. There is a new school bigger and a little more modern I was told.

Another taste of the real China.

Sort:  

Wow, nice photography!Is it the school your girlfriend used to go to?So sweet of you to ask her to show this place to you;))))

Yea, it's her old school. She almost couldn't find it by car. Guess she needed to be on foot to really know the way.

It looks remarkably like west texas.

Really? Lots of farms i guess. I haven't been to Texas but i will guess the feel is different. There aren't a lot farm machinery here, mostly all done by hand.

not Texas NOW...texas of the forties and fifties.
reminds me of back home when I was a kid.
only we had ONE ROOM school houses.
not NEAR that fancy.

haha. I was like... I'm sure Texas has some old school... err... schools still but yea. Makes a lot more sense if your referring to Texas 'back in the day". ^^

It’s amazing how something that is so old and broken can be so beautiful at the same time. The rustic nature is so attractive to look it- and know that there had to be so much history inside, makes it all the more amazing.
Great post- got yourself another follower.

Oh and I read some of your older posts too, great content. Excited to see what you have in store.

Thanks, I will follow you back.

How far back did you look? I like to scroll down peoples posts too.

Great story! People are migrating and leaving their past behind...photos are good too

I hope i documented it well.

Great thinking and nice photography.Upvote and resteem done.

Things like this show that the passage of time is unforgiving, I hope you learn something from all this;)

I learnt a little history and got some culture toi.

Wow!! That’s so interesting! I second @everittdmickey, looks like West Texas ha! So crazy that the lessons were still on the chalkboard

The thing about the chalkboards is the room maybe been used after the school closed. Maybe tutoring or kids just messing around on the weekend. I can only imagine if this one was in Texas, or Canada where I'm from, it would be spray painted with graffiti where teens smoke pot. Lol no signs of that here.

That's a bit spooky! Yet I'm sure it was fun to explore

Not sure what it's like after sunset on a full moon.

glad you got out of there in time.....

That's looks so good definitely one of the nicest place i have ever seen.... The environment is so good.... Nice post @solarguy

It was so peaceful and saw some pheasants in the fields.

i think this is so beautifull place in china

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15