Photoshop Workflow Video, Making A Composite Image.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

buffalo_final.jpg

This is a photoshop tutorial video showing how I created this image of a water buffalo.

It's a composite image made up of three separate photos. The buffalo image was taken in Phang Nga, Thailand. The grassland image was taken just outside Hua Hin, also in Thailand. And the karst landscape background photo was taken in southern China.

You'll need at least a basic understanding of Photoshop to follow this video.



I used layer masks and blending modes to combine the background images, then painted in the haze and sunlight on new layers.

To keep the video concise, I had already separated the buffalo from the background using the 'Pen' tool to make a selection. I refined the selection with the ‘Select and Mask’ tool and created a layer mask to remove the background. I like to use layer masks rather than deleting the background so I can further refine the selection later, if needed.

The brush tool I used to mask out the buffalos feet was downloaded, for free, from Adobe as part of a 'megapack.' Just click ‘Get More Brushes…' in the drop down menu of the brushes panel to be directed to the official website.

If you found this article helpful, don't forget to upvote.

Original photos are available from iStockphoto. Buffalo, Grass, Mountains


alt text

This is an article from my website. www.snaptravel.co.uk

All words, photos and videos are my own.

For more photos, videos, and travel articles find me at:
Website
Instagram
YouTube

Follow me on Steemit @snaptravel

Some More Travel And Photography Articles I've Written On Steemit:

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Hanoi, Vietnam
Cusco, Peru
Chan Chan, Peru
Wilcawain, Peru
Replacing The Sky In Photoshop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46