You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I was surprised to find this unusual transportation recently, and he was pretty sweet!

in #photography6 years ago

No, I was surprised myself, I was just in the zone. I was redesigning my battery for the homestead, and just blogging while I was doing that.

The new design is getting really close to what I want, I think I have a final design for a 24 volt 20 amp battery bank! with 6 sticks per bucket, 8 buckets will give me 960 amp hours; which will give me 23,000 watts.

I will need to 3D print 200 battery holder rings, unless I can figure out a way to use off the shelf battery holders. But I can print at least two at a time (four I hope) so it is not quite so bad.

I will still need many thousand spring connections, and I still need to work that part out!

:)

Sort:  

wow sir smithlabs..an engineer's work is never done it looks like! you have a 3D printer in your shop?

You don't??? ROFLOL! It is a new TOY, I have to have one! I have played with it a little, but this will be the first Work for it. Got to love that, new toys new jobs!

:O

yes sir smithlabs..does that time a long time to make something? you go online and download the plans or whatever and send them to the printer?

It is slow, because you take tiny dots of hot plastic, and stack them up, one on the other, to make a 3-D shape.

What I want, no one else has ever made, so I will need to make the model first, then make the part. Actually I will need to make four part models, and print them all at once.

:)

oh ok sir smithlabs and you will be doing this in your spare time at night?

I am quite good with AutoCAD and drawing things, ROFLOL! The 3-D printer runs by itself after I tell it to print. At first, I will only print a single battery bank set, to be sure all is right.

Once the first one is tested, I will begin heavy construction of the entire system. My bandsaw will cut a dozen tubes at a time, so the actual construction should be quick. I may even order some doughnut shaped Printed Circuit Boards, to go between layers of batteries.

I have ordered the BMS already, and it will be here before I am ready.

:O

sir smithlabs but what is BMS that you have ordered already? doesn't sound good.

Sorry, BMS is a Battery Management System. I was designing one myself, but I found a nice one I could buy for less cost, than I could build my own. If it behaves, I will need 50 of them.

When I finish, this battery will look like a reactor core; but it should last over 30 years, without me messing with this battery bank.

:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81