My new quiet spot by the homestead, has unlimited fishing potential!

in #photography3 years ago

One of the reasons we bought our homestead, was Keystone lake sitting just a mile away.

The dam is twenty miles that way:
20210401_153246.jpg

Some of the fishing shade:
20210401_153006.jpg

Here is a feeder creek, to the left; with about an acre of shallow water in a lagoon:
20210401_153237.jpg
These trees are the lakeside, and it is sbout 4 feet deep here. Good fishing now, since the big fish come in here for the minnows. When the SHTF, poles driven into the mud here will fifm a funnel, and make this one huge fish trap. Fishing will become real easy....

There is plenty of wildlife around this lake:
20210401_153434.jpg
These herons are 3 foot tall, and there are a lot of freshwater pelicans here too. I have seen herds of deer with forty plus adults in this area, with as many as nine on my property.

The water here is a hundred feet deep, and there are the remains of a town right under this picture:
20210401_152955.jpg
Lots of driftwood/ beaverwood, for fires on the beach!
Travel this direction for 30 miles and you'll be at the headwaters for the north fork of this lake.

More fishing shade:
20210401_152859.jpg
Here is where I got my car stuck and had to be towed out by a neighbor!

I just had to include the snail shell:
20210401_153543.jpg
The subtle colors really drew me to this snail shell. Understated, but attractive.

The black stain here is hematite:
20210401_153339.jpg
This is a prepping bonanza. I have harvested this with a magnet, and it is enough to feed a forge. It is also quite pure. I have to try to make a blade with this, once I get out there!

This lake will allow me resources to feed my family, and all the land in these pictures is public use land. I plan to plant crops no one will recognize here. This will make my less than two acres, produce like ten acres; without the associated costs. This has allowed me to pay cash for the homestead, which was our agreed upon goal!

Now if I can move before the liberals spend us into oblivion....

Sort:  

Looks very peaceful.

It is beginning to grow on me! I have a Sister that also lives on this lake. She is 6 miles away as the crow flies, and about 25 miles away by water. We plan to share resources, and I will sail the distance to exchange materials.

So yes quiet, but useful too for SHTF scenarios!

♡♡♡♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63