D.I.Y. Lightbox | Homemade Photography Equipment # 1

LIGHTBOX STUDIO.jpg
Hello, my fellow Steemians! When I started this blog I didn't realize how much picture quality would be a factor. In my first couple posts, my pics looked like garbage. I knew I needed to remedy this so I started reading about photography. Equipment can be expensive, so I decided to see if I can make some D.I.Y. camera equipment. Luckily we all have good cameras we carry around all the time but you'll need a photo app other than what comes pre-loaded on your smartphone. I went with opencamera which is available in google play. This will give you DSLR style controls and you can make the settings automatic until you get a hang of it.
BOX COLLAGE.jpg
In my search for camera equipment, I found a device called a lightbox. A lightbox is a portable photography studio, a box with windows to diffuse from an outside light source so you can take photos in high contrast. This will make all the difference in your end product. You can spend anywhere from 50 bucks into the hundreds or you can make one for under 10.

You will need the following supplies.

1- shipping box(any size will do)
1- matte white posterboard
1- roll duct tape
1- package of white tissue paper
1- ruler
1- pair of scissors or box cutter
1- marker
BOX COLLAGE 2.jpg

Close 1 side of the box and secure with tape. Cut flaps off the other end of the box. Establish what side of the box you want to be the bottom. Then make windows of the 3 other sides of the box. Measure 1 to 2 inches inside each edge of the box on each side and on the top to create windows. Cut out windows with scissors or box cutter. Cover windows with 2 sheets of tissue paper and secure with tape. Cut your posterboard to the width of your box and insert into the box, curving it up towards the top of the box. Don't put a crease into the posterboard rather make it curve so you won't have shadows in your photos. I use clip-on lights for my light source but desk lamps would work as well.
FINAL COLLAGE.jpg
FINISHED PRODUCT.jpg
As I need equipment I'm gonna attempt to make it and I'll do a blog post about it. Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope this helps out in your photography, I know it did for me.- @slowcookingchef

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-03T22:07:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow! Very nice way to enhance those photos!

Thanks, @world-travel-pro! I'm really enjoying the steemit community, thanks again for getting me on here.

Love your McGyver skills =D!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47