You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shaka's Travel Book - Visiting Silves, the Former Capital of the Algarve (Part 1)

in #photography5 years ago

All photos recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S.

This caught my attention of all things. It's what I use too, DLR's are too big and cumbersome to carry around.

You can do a lot with an iPhone's camera if you know how to use it!

Sort:  

Yes, I'm still using my "old" 6S which now barely holds sufficient charge for more than 3 hours.

The built-in camera is really great and versatile. I was surprised about that too and habe never been using a compact camera since then. If the light conditions are ideal the compromises one has to make even compared to a DSLR are relatively small. The possibility to zoom is of course very limited.

And I should also say that all these photos went through my Lightroom workflow for cropping, tonal corrections and some further light adjustments.

It's getting rare that I manage to convince myself carrying the 1.5 kg of my EOS 7D plus glass with me. But I keep missing the haptic experience of using a DSLR. The weight, the clack of the mirror and the viewing through an optical viewfinder.

I just checked mine and it's a 7. The charge on them sucks, but if you use battery savings ALL the time it's better.

Yes, the zoom is crap but its a compromise for having something in your pocket rather than a big piece of plastic and metal banging on your hips while walking.

For the places I go (Urbex) I really don't want that as I need both my hands and they tend to be dangerous places.

I have tried Lightroom but the version I have is ancient. I mess with Gimp a little sometimes for effects but really need to watch some tutorials. My head is a like a sink these days, info flows out if its not reused enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65