Where Eagles Fly : Two Medicine ~ Sacred Place for Vision Quests

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

To the First Nations Blackfeet, all of these mountains, rivers, plants and animals are sacred spirits who provide wisdom and guidance for living a good life. For time immemorial, these lands were considered a sacred place for Vision Quests, here is where they sought knowledge and strength from nature.

In the image above, Sinopah Mountain sits in the middle of the valley flanked by Rising Wolf Mountain on the right and Never Laughs Mountain on the left. Behind Sinopah Mountain are the sheer cliffs of Rising Bull Range and to the left of Sinopah Mountain lies Painted Tepee Peak. 

In the image below, the surface of a frigid Two Medicine Lake ripples in the afternoon wind while a storm front approaches, pushing over the towering barrier of the Rocky Mountains. On the left is Appistoki Peak while to the right, Rising Wolf Mountain is becoming cloaked in clouds and Red Mountain lays on the far right.

This is Two Medicine, one of the most revered places for the Blackfoot People, perhaps only Chief Mountain is more honored. These are truly sacred grounds.

To the First Nations Blackfeet, all of these mountains, rivers, plants, and animals are sacred spirits who provide wisdom and guidance for living a good life. For time immemorial, these lands were considered a sacred place for Vision Quests, here is where they sought knowledge and strength from nature. Wilderness is an absolute necessary component of the Vision Quest ceremony. 

Go here to read the full post from my project "Where Eagles Fly" about this wondrous mystical place in the Rocky Mountains near the Montana and Canadian border. 

About The Project

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. I am piloting a bush plane while exploring and filming throughout the remote back-country areas of North America to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

About The Author

My name is Zedekiah Morse and I'm a Bush Pilot, Photographer, Explorerand Filmmaker. I live in the Rocky Mountains and devote my time and resources to exploring as much of the world as I can by air.

If you wish to watch a short film detailing how I do my work and this project, go here.

Thanks for your support and Yehaw!!    

Sort:  

Another great post , Thanks very much

Hello. You are a lucky person to enjoy those paradisiacal landscapes and I also find this post that fills me with so much peace, it is a beautiful sacred space that inspires respect.

Great pictures and history!
I love this kind of dark shots!
You're more than right when you said

These are truly sacred grounds.

Well done man!🔝

Breathtaking History and Landscapes <3
Thanks for those mystical words...really keeps me thinking :)
Good LUck and I cant wait to see more of your work - raaad!

Thanks Johannes! Be safe on your travels my friend...

Wow, very good photos. The mountains looks like ours in Slovenia 😃 that is why I look twice at it 😂 And you know what? After that I saw, that mountains on your photos are probably much higher than ours. Thanks for sharing.

@skypilot,
The way you have captured both landscapes with your camera, as well as the part of History your have shared with us, makes it possible to admire these grounds as if we were witnesses of these wonders of Nature ourselves.
Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures. I look forward to your next amazing combination of Nature, beauty, and knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85