Where Eagles Fly : Lake McDonald ~ "The Place Where They Dance" Glacier National Park

in #photography7 years ago

Lake McDonald in the Glacier National Park in the Rocky Mountains of Montana, was a sacred place to the ancient peoples who lived in these lands so long ago, this was a place for dancing and a place for vision quests. Since time immemorial, the First Nations Kootenai people had returned to the lake to dance and sing songs as was their tradition. Here, they received help and guidance from different spirits. 

 "For 10,000 generations, the Kootenai people danced there, and it became known as "The Place Where They Dance".  They danced in the winter, when the year was young, to the song of water, the song of chickadee, nuthatch, wren, and raven. They danced for health and wealth and for food, danced the circular trail of the seasons to come, danced songs given by spirit helpers, at the beginning." Vernon Finley ~ Kootenai 

For the full post on this sacred place GO HERE to visit my project "Where Eagles Fly".

About The Project

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. I am piloting a bush plane while exploring and filming throughout the remote back-country areas of North America to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

About The Author

My name is Zedekiah Morse and I'm a Bush Pilot, Photographer, Explorer and Filmmaker. I live in the Rocky Mountains and devote my time and resources to exploring as much of the world as I can by air. If you wish to watch a short film detailing how I do my work and this project, go here.Thanks for your support and Yehaw!! 

Sort:  

Very cool and awesome the photography ! I like much @skypilot

I had heard of Glacier National Park, but had never heard of that tribe. I like that you learn about the places you go rather than just taking pretty pictures and then moving on.

That picture looks like it was taken at a low altitude. ;)

It sounds like they danced because they were grateful for everything in their lives and asking for more blessings to be given to them. That is incredible and so is that photo! Best of luck to you on your travels, have fun! Thanks for sharing.
Ivy

Incredible.... i thought your posts up to now were rad but this is insane!
Looks almost sureal <3
Do you got a Patreon-Account or something else... just want to keep supporting you my friend :))

Really really appreaceating how you are living your dreams <3
jojo

This lake is so beautiful. Very calm and cool. Keep working @skypilot. Best Regards..

My eyes follow the eagle as he flies
Into the horizon across the ancient skies

I can almost feel the wind as he rides on his wings
Maybe I'll give my heart to these flying kings

Let this be final call into the wilderness
Tomorrow I'll be enchanted by a sorceress

May my heart still find what's true
As my eyes followed the eagle as he flew

Nice blog, followed. I look forward to seeing more epic wilderness shots in my feed :-)

Great Contribution and Awesome photography.
Thanks for shear it.

Happy Steeming.

Beautiful scenery.
Great @skypilot where is that place?
Why are they always dancing? Is that some kind of idol?

Cool... very interesting job .. lots of interesting experience doing it all ...
Good luck @skypilot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59