Vibrant Alpenglow Sunrise Above the Eldorado Mountains

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

These energetic colors are the very early morning Alpenglow reflecting bright red on the bottom of the clouds overlooking the Eldorado Mountains on the border of Arizona and Nevada over the Colorado River just south of  Boulder City Nevada. You can see the silhouette of the Eldorado Mountains running horizontally across on the bottom of the picture.   

Alpenglow (from German: Alpenglühen, Italian: Enrosadira) is an optical phenomenon that appears as a horizontal reddish glow near the horizon opposite of the Sun when the solar disk is just below the horizon. This effect is easily visible when mountains are illuminated, but can also be seen when clouds are lit through backscatter

Since the Sun is below the horizon, there is no direct path for the sunlight to reach the mountain. Unlike sunrise or sunset, the light that causes alpenglow is reflected off airborne precipitation, ice crystals, or particulates in the lower atmosphere. 

These conditions differentiate between a normal sunrise or sunset and alpenglow. The term is generally confused to be any sunrise or sunset  light reflected off the mountains or clouds, but true alpenglow is not  direct sunlight and is only visible after sunset or before sunrise. After sunset, if mountains are absent, the aerosols in the eastern part of the sky can be lit in the same way by the remaining scattered red light straddling the fringe of Earth's shadow (the terminator). This backscattered light projects a pinkish band opposite of the Sun.
(Research Source)

I lensed this image just after taking off from the Boulder City Airport in Nevada. I was on my way to explore the southern Mojave Desert and was turing back to the east when the colors suddenly splashed this brilliant scene across the sky. It took a minute to get my camera set up as I was busy piloting the bushplane, but once I did I was able to capture this vibrant image!


This is another awesome image from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47%  of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness. 

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my  personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that  surround us. 

If you like what you see here upvote) then resteemit so that  others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like  these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!  

Sort:  

Pure beauty!

That is so true...

Stunning! :)

WoW so beautiful, what a way to start your day!

Nice post, thanks for sharing

@skypilot
Nice Post Bro.Keep It Up.

Keep up the good work

unnamed

Perfect color of the sky

Ohh men!, simply beautiful, a spectacular sky

I agree! And this only shows part of the sky...the entire sky surrounding me was this color!

Wow... there are no other words other than "wow"! Those colours! I'm definitely going to be following from now on! I just love all of your work and your posts. Keep up the awesome work, my friend!

Wow, thank so you much! Natures colors never cease to amaze me. I really appreciate you taking the time to check out the posts!!

Fantastic!!! You may look into my travel serie ''If We Look From the Viewpoint of Art History''.
There is my recent post: https://steemit.com/ru/@atakanoz/looking-by-an-art-historian-from-st-petersburg-travel-in-2013-peter-and-paul-fortress

@atakanoz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76