The Uinta Mountains on the Border of the First Nations Uintah-Ouray Reservation

in #photography7 years ago

As part of the Wasatch National Forest,  these are the Uinta Mountains to the east of Salt Lake City Utah and on the border of the First Nations Uintah-Ouray Reservation.  These are rugged mountains with an east-west trending range that dips slightly into southern Wyoming.  As a sub-range of the Rocky Mountains, they are unusual for being the  highest range in the contiguous United States running east to west. 

This image I lensed while flying and exploring the area between Bryce Canyon National Park and the Wasatch Forest, is one of my rare photos captured in the middle of the day. I usually avoid shooting in the bright sunlight due to the wash out  effect it has on camera sensors and lens. But with the clouds occluding  the sunlight and casting a dramatic and warm glow over the landscape I  felt this was a scene worthy of sharing!

This mountainous wilderness are the traditional homelands of the First Nations Ute Tribes from which the state name of Utah is derived.  The Utes have a current tribal membership of 2,970 and over half of its membership lives on the Reservation. They operate their own tribal government and oversee  approximately 1.3 million acres. (Research Source)  


This is another image from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal  mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. People cannot preserve and protect these wondrous places if they do not know they exist!

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others  may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these  images to be part of your feed then follow me.  Yehaw!!    

Sort:  

Exellent like always - Have a nice day

Keep up the good work

Mountains are always beautiful

I agree! I love mountains so much

@skypilot phato mountains beautifull and looking great . i also love mountains

Wow

the mountains look great, but I personally call my attention the effect that is in the clouds, great photo...

Blessings

I agree! I love the way the clouds look in this image!

I drove my Mom through these mountains on the way through North-Eastern Utah on the way to Wyoming. Beautiful country!

That image is very beautiful! It has a lot of depth to it :-)

Again, I love the moodiness of this photo. The clouds have an ominous feeling about them, like approaching inclement weather.

I agree, I really like the clouds in this... and it was pretty cool to fly in it because the clouds were all around me which means I had to carefully thread my way through them. It was spectacular.

wow Beautifulll 😊

I love a good mountain range photo, and this one is more than good! So much drama in a still photo. Beautiful work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75