The San Juan Wilderness in the Colorado Rocky Mountains

in #photography7 years ago

This is the San Juan Wilderness in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. Along the horizon starting on the left is Gramps Peak (12,340 ft ) then Charleys Peak ( 11,677 ft) and then on the right is Conejos Peak (13,173 ft).  

On the other side of this ridge lies the Continental Divide and this entire image is all within the Rio Grande National Forest

This ridgeline in the immediate foreground is called the Roaring Gulch.  

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here then upvote and then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

The United States Congress designated the South San Juan Wilderness (map) in 1980 and it now has a total of 160,999 acres. All of this wilderness is located in Colorado and is managed by the Forest Service.

Nice post.

Yes they did and thanks!

Elegant view, thank you very much for your creativity friend!

Hey John, thanks so much for your support sir! I really do appreciate you taking time to check this out and then comment! yehaw!!

great landscape thanks !

A really awesome photo. Do you plan to put all these wonderful photos in a table top book when you finish your project? It would be an amazing book to have lying about for visitors to look at.

Thanks so much for this and all your nice comments!!! I actually have a plan for all of this I am working on... and I have thought about doing a coffee table book, in a couple of sizes, really big and kinda big :) .... I was wondering about whether to do that as a crowdfunding effort. I wonder if it would work? I wonder if I could to it on steemit?? I wonder a lot of things apparently!! yehaw!!

so beauty,, great photography

I like your post bro.

nice post. Pl do follow me as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72