The Old Hideaway Cabin in Cherokee Hollow

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I find places from the air that require a long hike to get into, such as this old cabin in Cherokee Hollow, in the Paint Rock Valley of North Alabama below Cumberland Plateau. This was deep in the woods and was probably built in the early 1800's. We had to ride horses for hours to get back in here and tied them up in the back, it looked like a hide out.

This image is from my Artistic Impression series where I use a digitizing tablet to lightly brush various filter effects into the image to give it a certain mysterious quality.

To view images from the project Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition please view my other posts. I am on a mission to raise awareness of our Iconic Natural Heritage Treasures of North America.

If you feel like donating to my project please feel free to do so. You cannot write if off or get anything for it other than my gracious thanks!



And if you would like, press the button to automatically follow my stories! Love to have you on board.

yehaw

Sort:  

Beautiful picture. Looks like a setting for a mystery!

Thanks team101! It is a deep wooded place with a great deal of First Nations and Pioneer history. I like to wonder about the people that built it and all that has happened here since then.

That is a place id wanna be in! Cool pic

Thanks serejanmyself!

The lighting is magnificent and calls to me in a mysterious way,

I agree mazi, there is a mysterious but not foreboding quality to the setting. I'm glad you like it!

remote to say the least.... lovely picture

Thank you ladypenelope!

You do some awesome, awesome work. Love the deep woods feel of this one. Following! :)

Thank customnature, your work is also awesome! I love the places you are exploring!

As a southern girl, I love these old cabins and shacks you can find there! Reminds me of places I've seen in Mississippi!

Perfect hideout for a bank robber ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45