The Needle Mountains on the Colorado Rocky Mountains

in #photography7 years ago

These are the Needle Mountains, a subrange of the San Juan Mountains in the Colorado Rocky Mountains. A good portion of this range located  in the Weminuche Wilderness of the San Juan National Forest.  

The Needle Mountains are notable for containing some of the most rugged mountains in the state. There are 4 peaks above 14,000 feet and 10 above 13,000 feet.  This is rugged land, especially in mid-minter covered in snow as in this image I lensed while exploring the wilderness areas in the San Juan Range.   

Took get a good feel of the size and scope of this image, open it full screen and soak in the scale of wild lands here. This is a harsh, rugged yet insanely beautiful place. It makes me infinitely happy these places exist! 

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

I love the full color range of blue in this photo... and the white snow accent is just simply beautiful.

Your post is cool I really like your own work, have fun in this steemit, really beautiful this world friend, I hope you succeed in this steemit I will always support you, Give me time to see my post, see lah here @andriannaa

Awesome pic! I love the Rockies. I'm a big skier and have been to Winter Park a few times. Did you take this pic?

Thanks glad you like it and yes I did take this and all the ones on this blog!

hello my friend! Your post is very good
i like i like times, see is my first introduction post in steemit my friend, i hope you see it and upvote -resteem thank you

I want go skiing there too!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40