The Continental Divide on the San Juan Range in the Rocky Mountains

in #photography7 years ago

A Close up view of the immense San Juan Range in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. To get a sense of the scale of this image, open it full screen and look at the size of the large fir trees in the foreground. Then follow them up the mountainside to the peaks. Nice!

Mount Baldy, Three Sisters Peaks, Horse Mountain and the Piedra River all lay frozen under a winter blanket of deep snow in this image I lensed while flying and exploring the wilderness area along the San Juan Mountains. 

Along the horizon on those many mountainous peaks runs the Continental Divide, the middle line between the east and west sides of the North American Continent.
It's path might surprise you~!

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   


Sort:  

Great picture. Upvoted you. My son has climbed 48 of Colorado's 56 (or is it 58) peaks over 14,000+ ft high. His goal is to do the rest by the end of next summer. Not to be outdone, however, my two daughters took on Mt. Kilamajaro in Africa last December and made it to the top over 19k up.

Sweet work as always. Do you happen to know "Glider Bob" up in Telluride? You seem like someone who runs in the same circles as Bob.

PUSSY get san de christo early spring or like indian peaks on a day that has a good jet stream

Do you mean the Sangre De Cristo Mountains?

Amazing, @skypilot
as in painting

this is a good post, I really like it. hopefully the next post is better than this. thank you already share. and thank you too, If you get the time, to see my post today about life and for the attention and love it I am very grateful.

extraordinary posting is very cool.wajar people like your posts including me who always follow your post .memjoto own motofasi for me.dan I try to share your post to another friend.and if do not mind visit and vote my posting.

Follow me @imranroza

https://steemit.com/life/@imranroza/kesuksesan-berasal-dari-kebiasaan-baik-201797t105549545z

Love your project @skypilot. My heart will always be partial to Colorado and its beauty, keep the quality photos coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41