Sunset at Point Sur, California

in #photography8 years ago (edited)




I was able to capture an interesting sunset sequence at Point Sur, California. In this first image it was apparent that this was going to be a beautifully textured sunset with the multi-layered Cirrocumulus clouds above and the Altocumulus clouds below. Additionally the low thin shoreline fog was beginning to slightly develop, giving the area immediately along the shore a mystical softness. Point Sur is a light house, for more info go here.



Point Sur Sunset Stage 2

I wandered around the area trying to set up a classic "rule-of-thirds" composition using both horizontal and vertical positioning. Lots of times the issue is that there are just too many cool ways to shoot the image. So, I opted to shoot it a number of different ways, especially as time went on and colors shifted against the available light making the image more mysterious.
Go here to see larger version



Point Sur Sunset Stage 3

I'm shooting from about a mile away from Point Sur and was attempting to correctly gauge what the prime spot would be to capture the sun "spash" effect as it intersected with the horizon. Over the ocean it is a very beautiful effect if caught at exactly the right moment, but I suddenly realized that effect would be obfuscated by Point Sur itself so I needed to alter my shot composition setup.



Point Sur Sunset Stage 4

Running like a madman with my equipment bag, tripod and camera gear I scrambled to get in position on the right side of Point Sur to capture at least some of the horizon flare effect, and was able to get in position and set up, right in the nick of time! What I like about this shot is the way the sun rays on the right side are stopped by the sand dune on the shoreline. You can see it slightly glow along the top edge of the dune as it casts a shadow across the pasture.
Go here to see larger version



Point Sur Sunset Stage Cows

Then backing out the frame I noticied I had company... these guys had been somewhat following me around while I was doing this... they must have thought I was crazy! LOL...
Wow, what a view they have every day.

An addendum to this post... in the comments below @sulev had a good suggestion of a particular angle I could have shot and I agreed, though I did not have that particular shot I did have one somewhat similar in concept. Here you go:



Point Sur Sunset Stage Cows II

To see a larger version of it go here

To view images from the project Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition please view my other posts. I am on a mission to raise awareness of our Iconic Natural Heritage Treasures of North America.

And if you would like, press the button to automatically follow my stories! Love to have you on board.

yehaw

Sort:  

this is so beautifull, it makes me feel so calm

hey gargon, thanks... yes myself as well... it was a very peaceful evening. Hardly a sound at all say for the occasional seagull call in the distance and the cowbells LOL. Glad you enjoy it!

So beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure team101, I'm happy you like it!

Fantastic shots!

Thank you daveks

rally skilled! following you :)

nice of you to say steemokto! and thanks

Cows makes everything better! Ha ha! No, seriously, these are so gorgeous. I love sunset photos!

Thanks Chaeya! those cows were very friendly, I hung out with them for a while.

Beautiful. I think the cows in the final shot really make it by adding an extra point of interest.

LOL thanks cryptofiend... I think its interesting sometimes to see the stuff that occurs around the image subject matter.

Absolutely awesome

Thank you gavvet! I appreciate that!

These are gorgeous shots! What kind of camera did you take them with?

Thank you ejaredallen...These were taken with a Canon 6D and EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM Lens with a polarizing lens filter, on a tripod. I was wearing a cowboy hat at the time as well, a crucial piece of equipment for me!

Damn, the last one. A lower angle, closer to the cows and away with the fence/bushes... that would've been perfect :D

sulev, well I did not have one that close as you are suggesting, that would have been cool...but I did find this one which I've posted at the end, above. It is the closest I have to your suggestion! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44