Radial Engine Cars and Motorcycles!?

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Radial engines have been around since the beginning of manned flight in the early 20th century. I see vintage airplanes at the small airports I fly out of and in museums all across the world. The main aircraft used in WWI and WWII were primarily radial engines with a few notable exceptions.

I could give countless examples of airplanes that use them but instead if you want to see a large assortment please go here

This post is a pictorial overview of the many vehicles that folks build that are powered by the same radial engines that you find in vintage aircraft. These following photographs are not mine so I am posting the source of each photo so you can check it out yourself.

This first one is Jesse James AeroBike - source

Next we have Gary Corn’s Jacobs radial-powered Plymouth truck - source

Then we have the Verdel racing bike... that was acutally built with a radial engine to begin with source

This is the Radial Chopper from JR Cycles - source

And how can we not include Mike Neiman and his crazy VW !! - source

There are many many more of these to check out if you want. Go here

Sort:  

Just look at the P47 Thunderbolt , frame built around most powerful engine in WWII . No hoses no pipes for cooling , that engine was so durable . And i think that almost all US Navy planes from WWII era are with radial engine , F4U Corsair , F6F Hellcat , F8 Bearcat . Man i just melt when i see Warbirds in air . But nothing can compare with P51 Mustang . P47 vs P51 hmm , Jug is a king of durability , P51 speed demon .

So do I .... and what brought this on is that I am sitting above my hangar at the airport working and there is a steady stream of aircraft stopping by to refuel on their way to the Reno Air Races this next week so I've had the pleasure of listening to these beautiful machines come and go for the past couple of days. And the Jug is one of my favorite airplanes ever!!!

I love planes from my childhood , my mother's uncle was a pilot and every time when he was out of duty he would take me to airbase to show me some stuff . When time comes to go home i would cry for hours . Now i have Malmen Air Base near where i live in Sweden , i often go there to check Air force museum .
My biggest wish in life ( there are two actually ;) ) is to visit Osh Kosh and To be in Reno on Air races . Usually i sit in front of house here waiting for Saab's JAS 39 Gripens to show . Enjoy in flying you are so lucky .

Ya Know
I just Had To Check This Out
Liked!
upvoted!
bookmarked
Awesome motors!

You get my vote! I love the bikes. Thanks and keep on posting :D

Thanks handsolo! I will.... and keep up the good work yourself! Love your carpentry work :)

Nice one! Will do. There will be a little steel project coming on here in the next couple of days. I'm guessing you're a technical type so I'd appreciate your comments. It is a bit of fun though
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48