Purple Alpenglow Across the Mysterious Zion ~ Altar of Sacrifice

in #photography7 years ago

This is the Mystical Zion National Park In mid winter, I lensed this mysterious looking image of Zion National Park while flying over Mount Shunberg in February. The scale of this image is vast, each little dot on the mountains in the lower foreground is a large conifer tree.  

I love the colors of this image. Taken in the late afternoon after the sun has set, the alpenglow effect glows with a bluish hue that mixes with the auburn, umber and magenta-vermilion colors of Zion. 

You are looking a distance of 60 miles across the mountains. It was exceedingly cold the day I took this image, and windy as evidenced by the curling clouds above the majestic formations. Because I fly with the window open all the way so I can swivel and shoot through the open air, the cold is tremendously biting. However, I am geared up for it with the proper clothing, my fur hat and very good gloves, but when I am in contact with the slipstream from the propeller wash it exasperates the intensity of the cold and permeates every pore of your body.

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   


Sort:  

Hello @skypilot

We at @adsactly find this post very interesting. Thank you for sharing.

Please accept this small token of our gratitude and be welcomed to our ranks here: ADSactly

Your post was upvoted by Keyholder North, rewarding you with 4.5$ plus the trail!

Keep up your awesome work!

I like that picture from outside the plane.
Very nice!!!

Awesome photography, thanks for sharing 🙏


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Zion is one of the most beautiful natural parks. And one of the most fun to explore.

I really like what you did by putting a camera out there on the wing for a selfie. Very cool! :)

That plane wing photo is just stunning, living in the UK which is smaller then many US states - trying to even comprehend 47% land mass in America and a massive 90% for Canada is just mind blowing.

I'm amazed!
What else to say?

waw best photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57