Mount Hood and the Columbia River in Glorious Morning Alpenglow

in #photography7 years ago

This is an image I lensed of  Mount Hood, Oregon, with the  Columbia  River covered in mist coming off of its cool surface and  spreading throughout  the entire area in this dense warm morning &n>bsp;atmosphere. 

This was taken very early in the morning when I was flying  from Hillsboro Oregon over  to Yakima, Washington. The sun is still 45 minutes away from rising so all the ambient  blue  hued light is due to the over the horizon alpenglow effect. 

I had  to  crank up the camera ISO to be able to get the shot and therefore  would  be very noisy so I had to compensate which resulted in this  beautiful  soft glowing image, reminiscent of classic Asian style  paintings from  the past few centuries.  

This is part of a series of images I have that are all created  using  the Alpenglow effect. Alpenglow (from German: Alpenglühen) is an   optical phenomenon when sky is illuminated through backscattering.

Since the Sun is below the horizon, there is no direct path for the light to   reach the mountain. Unlike sunset or sunrise, the light that causes alpenglow is   reflected off airborne snow, water, or ice particles low in the atmosphere. 

These conditions differentiate between a normal sunrise or   sunset and alpenglow. The term is generally confused to be any sunrise  or  sunset light seen on the mountains, but true alpenglow is not direct  sunlight, and is only observed after sunset or before sunrise.   (Research Source)

This is a 30" by 60" version printed on canvas with the Giclee process. I also offer this print on 3 different types of metal and also on Fuji Flex Film mounted on acrylic. 

And I will  take steem or SBD or Bitcoin if you are interested in collecting a piece and want to purchase with cryptocurrency.    

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  

Yehaw!!   


Sort:  

Exciting! Wanna this picture for myself

Beautiful art. 👍

Wow this is beautiful. Almost such a calming blue it is ominous. Love that color. 30x60! That's my size of photo, haha.

love the blue colour, its so mind refreshing

very beautiful art

Upvote - resteemed!

Amazing art. I follow you

I really like this picture as well, do you sell full resolution digital copies perchance? I live in Japan and would like to print out an HD copy for my apartment

Hey thanks, glad you like it. No I don't sell digital copies, only printed versions. But I do have numerous different ways to print it that are very nice and look amazing when mounted on the wall. I like to work with the collector and determine where it will be placed and then help decide the substrate and printing technique that most fits the surrounding environment in which it will be placed.

awesome photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95